Kraftmaid

 
9.0
 
4.2 (75)
 
Write Review
Kraftmaid

Company Address

P.O. Box 1055
Middlefield, Ohio 44062
1-888-562-7744

Warranty

As long as you own the cabinets

Door Styles Available

  • Shaker
  • Arched
  • Raised Panel
  • Flat Panel

Wood Used

  • Oak
  • Maple
  • Cherry
  • Hickory
  • Birch

For more than 40 years, KraftMaid has been committed to the needs of our customers.

We’re an industry leader and one of the largest built-to-order cabinet manufacturer in the United States, helping more customers create the home of their dreams than any other cabinet manufacturer in the world.

Our cabinets are constructed here in the United States. With more than 1.5 million square feet of manufacturing facilities in Northeast Ohio, we bring you the same kind of hand-crafted all-wood, dovetail drawer boxes and I-beam constructed cabinets that we sold from our modest shop over 40 years ago.

Why choose KraftMaid? Because semi-custom kitchen cabinets give you the perfect blend of style, selection, and affordability.

With semi-custom cabinetry, you get to enjoy customizing your cabinetry design without the steep prices and extended lead times that often go with fully-customized cabinets. Our product is 100% built-to-order. Through state-of-the-art construction methods, we use the finest materials to build each cabinet to your exact specifications. You choose your door style and the type of material for your semi-custom kitchen cabinets, whether that’s oak, cherry, maple, birch or hickory. Then, you complete your cabinet design with your choice of finish and decorative hardware.

Editor review

(Updated: February 19, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
9.0

Good selection of options

Kraftmaid has a great selection of doors and cabinet styles. Their warranty, as long as you own the cabinets, is one of the best in the industry. They offer many "custom" options and the only drawback to buying their cabinets is that they are on the more expensive side for semi custom cabinets. If you are considering these cabinets, you will end up with quality cabinets.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

75 reviews

9-10 stars
 
(11)
7-9 stars
 
(6)
5-7 stars
 
(7)
3-5 stars
 
(15)
1-3 stars
 
(36)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
4.5  (75)
Durability 
 
4.1  (75)
Warranty 
 
4.3  (75)
Custom Options 
 
5.2  (75)
Price / Value 
 
3.7  (75)
Quality 
 
3.4  (75)
View all reviews
Already have an account?
Ratings (the higher the better)
Finish
How is the finish on your cabinets?
Durability
How durable is the cabinet finish?
Warranty
How is their warranty
Custom Options
Did they offer all of the options you wanted?
Price / Value
How was the price and value of the cabinets?
Quality
What is the overall quality of the cabinets?
Reviewer Terms
PLEASE READ!!! Your contact information must be valid and you must validate your account for your review to be posted! An email will be sent to you right after you submit your review. Please validate your account. If the email bounces or your account is not validated, or if you provide false information in any way, your review will not be published. It is the responsibility of Kitchen Cabinets Reviews to provide honest and valid reviews and we appreciate you taking the time to add your thoughts. For Complete Terms and Conditions, click here:

Terms and Conditions

Comments
You will be able to upload media right after you submit your review.
Overall rating 
 
7.8
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
7.0

After 7 Years....

Well, I was looking for a couple doors to match our KraftMaid kitchen cabinets (for a uh, leftover (defective) cabinet and found this review site, so I thought I would post a review... after owning them for 7 years running.

First the good... we don't really have problem with the quality and finish of the cabinets and the functionality of the hardware (hinges and slides). They are holding up well except for where doors bump other doors or cabinets due to overlap. Can't avoid that other than trying to be careful when opening them. Overall, they have held up well.

The worse part of the process was at the beginning when we received our cabinets. I reckon we had to get about 9 door or drawer faces replaced, as well as the entire trash cabinet AND the huge double oven cabinet, all due to blemishes or just not looking right. It was not fun going through that process. I think we ended up maxing out on our allowance of replacements. Reason I gave 7 stars for Quality is because of the bad items we received but we've been happy overall with the quality.

Fortunately, our contractor brought in a good cabinetry guy for the installation and finishing so what we did end up with, has look pretty good, in my opinion.

I surmise it's hard to make every cabinet and door or drawer face perfect at the factory and I think they ship them anyway, hoping that the customer doesn't see or care enough to notice. We were somewhat picky, but for $7000 or whatever it was, we felt we had a right to be.

I don't understand how someone could call what we have Apartment Grade cabinets. They really are much nicer. Maybe other people have purchased a lower grade KitchenMaid product.

We got ours through Lowe's. Have not needed the warranty. It's hard to quantify the Price/Value. I suppose as long as they hold up, it gets better over time. Right now it's $1000/yr of ownership.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
6.0
Warranty 
 
5.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
3.0

Just not that Good

I really thought the quality was going to be better. Also, Lowes was not easy to work with through this whole process. If I knew then what I know now, I would have went in a different direction for sure.
Kraftmaid and Lowes--Not a good combination.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Finish 
 
9.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
9.0

Very Satisfied Excellant Service

It has been several months since we completed our complete kitchen remodel. Wow...it took a looong time. We went through the Home Depot for the project, and generally speaking it went well. the only issue was the countertops, they delayed the whole project significantly. We opted for KraftMaid in canvas finish with a coco glaze. Beautiful color. We added lots of extras, such as crown moldings, polymer construction underneath the sink cabinet as well as plywood construction on several of the key cabinets. The only issue we had was with the seams on several of the doors. You could see the lines through the finish. It simply was not consistent with the quality of the finish. We pointed this out to the company via HD. It was a large kitchen, and at least 30% of the doors had this slight "defect." But I have to admit we NEVER got any blow back from KraftMaid. They replaced EVERYTHING without question. In fact, I now have about 12 extra doors in my garage! Granted, it was a bit of a hassle to wait for the shipping for the replacements; but they always came through. Would do business with both HD and KraftMaid again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
3.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Wish I had never purchased

I am extremely disappointed that the majority of cabinets I ordered were warped and had to be sent back. I cannot tell you how many have been sent back but at least 7-9 doors/drawer fronts. Then they come back to my Kitchen Designer and are still warped and have to be sent back again. Now they are supposed to be in a special program called Quality Control...have been in this que for weeks and I still don't have them. This kitchen should have been completed by mid-April at the latest and we are into June. The regional and local representative visited my home and made promises that have not been kept. I am a very busy local realtor and I will tell all of my clients to never buy Kraft Maid products. I was patient for weeks but all of my patience is gone now and I am done with Kraft Maid. I like my kitchen designer but she apparently has no pull with Kraft Maid. This is maddening!!! I also forgot to mention that not only were many cabinets warped, many were also chipped and damaged. UGGH!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
6.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
4.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
4.0

Kraftmaid-apartment grade cabinets

I do not recommend Kraftmaid for any cabinet configuration that Kraftmaid will not fit perfectly. These are suitable for only simple kitchens and look very low-end when complete. My semi-custom cabinets do not the shape of my kitchen and offer far less storage space than my original kitchen. I cannot access plumbing as the cabinets were designed so small. I ordered Maple with Saddle Brown finish. The doors came that color but the frames and side walls came a very different grain and much darker color. The overall look is terrible.
I regret my purchase; again; these are suitable for low-end kitchens only.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
2.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

the worst

these were a huge mistake, the cabinets are second rate, the customer service dept is worse, Patrick Lenzi, our area rep., came to the house after months of begging kraftmaid and the retailer that sold us the cabinets. Took pictures did some measurements, never saw him again. Constant attempts to contact him or Kraftmaid customer service have fallen on deaf ears. It's been 8 to 9 months since he came by and we are no further than we were back then. Run away when it comes to Kraftmaid

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Warranty 
 
4.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Not MY Kraftmaid

My husband and I signed for our new kitchen on July 28th 2018 with the Home Depot using Kraftmaid cabinets and it is still not finished! We chose white cabinets and we've had to order and reorder over forty door fronts due to imperfections in the finish, waiting weeks between shipments. To make matters worse, a Kraftmaid representative pinned the blame on us, the customer, stating that our standards are too high. A brand new car rolls off the lot with a beautiful finish but Kraftmaid can't seem to produce a door front without imperfections. We didn't purchase this product from the bruised and reduced section! And there is concrete acknowledgement from Kraftmaid regarding their own door finish problems or they wouldn't keep sending replacements. Installation is not within industry standards as we have cabinets coming apart, uneven trim, shims falling out and other problems. Maybe some of it is due to the cabinet that is cut on an angle, which is not square. There is a whole other matter of contention regarding the number of screws that go into the backer- blocks and the slides in the drawers. Multiple representatives from Kraftmaid have given different answers as to how many are needed. We were never satisfied with that. And to top it off, no one has ever given an explanation as to what causes the imperfections in the door finish. Is it the kiln drying ? No one has told us . We didn't expect this lack of quality in the product or kind of treatment from the representative as we received. We are the customer and we don't deserve it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
6.7
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0

Never again

$20K purchase through Lowe's of both Kitchen and Bathroom cabinets. Sure a couple came freight damaged, I don't blame Km for that. But as others have remarked I do blame them for all the warped doors and drawer fronts. Lowe's blamed it on the humidity in Florida, but they are in an air conditioned house, and if they can't handle that, they shouldn't sell them here. Lowe's ordered replacements, but many of those came warped straight from Kraftmaid. They must be leaving too much moisture in the wood. Did they sent 3 rounds of replacements, yes. Was it a major inconvenience. you bet it was.
My other complaint is the soft close drawer glides. They flat out don't work. Some close part way, some get close, but few don't need pushing in to look right. Pain in the rear. Soft close on the upper cabinet door hinges do work, but don't seem to be designed right. The doors on the side of the microwave open into the microwave unless you hold onto them. That will eventually mar the finish.
When you spend that much money, and wait as long as we did, your expectation is you will get what was agreed on. I feel cheated. I may have been happy @ say $10K, but @ $20K, I expected more.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
7.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Disappointed

I tried hard to be happy with these cabinets. $24,000 worth of maple/dove white kitchen cabinets. The only thing that kept me from telling the company to come and take their cabinets back or we can work this out in court, was the local kitchen designer/reseller -- who bent over backward to make sure things were made right.

Issues included:

Custom cabinet arrived warped, cracked and barely painted. You could also see deep saw marks on the stiles. A junior high wood shop student could have done a better job.

Several cabinets way out of square. We stacked a couple of small cabinets and they were so far out of spec that I had to sand down the sides of them and re-veener them myself just to get them to look right. Imagine spending $24,000 on cabinets and then having to rehab the cabinets yourself just to make them usable?

Several drawers don't close correctly and new hardware will need to be ordered.

Kraftmaid uses the cheapest cardboard boxes with NO padding, for shipping moldings. I had $1000 worth of molding delivered and a couple of boxes were broken open on the ends, and the UPS guy spilled them out onto the driveway when carrying them.

Any issues like this, as they come up, set your schedule back two weeks since you have to re-order replacements from Kraftmaid. We have been without a kitchen now for nearly three months trying to get this project completed. Three months. I could put a complete house up in three months. Unbelievable.

Bottom line, these are contract manufactured for Kraftmaid at various locations around the country. Obviously using low-skilled labor and poor quality control. Everything is held together with glue-gun and staples. The painted finishes are so thin it will be a miracle if they don't wear through on touch-spots after a few months of usage.

Better cabinetry would have cost me another $12,000 so I realize you get what you pay for...but for the prices they get on these cabinets they should not be barely a step above China import product quality.

Very disappointed with this purchase but will now have to live with it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.3
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
3.0

extremely poor quality control

We ordered solid maple cabinets with white painted finish and purchased/had them installed via Lowes. We purchased the cabinets and labor in full a year ago and we still are waiting to get defective cabinet doors and microwave shelf replaced. Kraftmaid ships the replacements directly via UPS and it is clear that there are problems with the items that are due to poor quality control and not due to damage during shipping. They have replaced numerous doors and drawer faces, but many of the replacement items had to be replaced more than once. Problems we have experienced: 1) paint entirely missing from door in 1 x 6 inch area. No primer, no paint, just bare wood. 2) Defective drawer box missing parts and not assembled correctly at the factory. 3) Very rough areas that were not properly sanded or filled prior to painting on drawer faces and doors. 4) large cracks in cabinet door and drawer face when removed from shipping boxes 5) cracked and chipped paint falling off microwave shelf. First replacement shelf has warped veneer, chipped paint and large unsightly gaps between veneer and edge of shelf in three separate locations. 6) discoloration in finish bleeding from below, 7) multiple small bumps on door face paint, 8) missing/chipped paint on front of cabinet door along face edge Pros: slide out shelves are convenient, smooth, and solidly built. So far, they have replaced defective parts, but the volume of defects is totally unacceptable. I would not recommend Kraftmaid for painted finish cabinets and regret having gone through Lowes for our kitchen remodel.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

excellent cabinets

We redid our kitchen in 2004 and chose Kraftmaid cabinets and they have are still in excellent condition. Our kitchen is a country kitchen and it is the center of the house so it is a busy place. These cabinets have stood the test of time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Kraftmaid = Garbage

Ordered 3 bathroom base cabinets and one over the counter linen cabinet. It took 5 weeks for delivery. The following day I had my cabinet guy to install them. He started with cutting the boxes and getting the cabinets out. I could not believe my eyes when I saw the conditions of the cabinets. 3 cabinets where broken beyond repairs. Had to pay the guy for his 1/2-day work (he did not work since could not use the cabinets). called the place where I bought them from and was told wait another 4 weeks for the replacement. I tried to return them, however, was told I could not! Kraftmaid products are garbage. I can not believe I ordered them despite of all the terrible reviews. garbage, garbage, garbage

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Great Cabinets, Great Customer Service

We put Kraftmaid Cabinets in the new house we built 12 years ago. They still look like brand new. We have pets, grandkids and a lot of company and they are holding up just great. We had no issues when we bought them at lowes but we had a great salesperson at the store which i think makes a world of difference no matter which cabinets you buy. We had one issue with one cabinet that started to pull away from the wall. We called lowes and they ordered us a new cabinet no charge and installed it no questions asked. Apparently there was an issue with the installation. So we are building a new house and we are putting kraftmaid in once again. Believe me we wouldn't do it if we weren't convinced they are great cabinets.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Garbage

We spent$20,000 on cabinets. 90% of them had to be reordered due to flaws on the finish. We were sent warped trim, a smashed pantry, and are over a month behind on install. We have received reordered items in worse shape than the items we had originally received. Since a picture is worth a thousand words, here is a sample of 6 reordered items we received yesterday; keep in my this is a small percentage of issues we are having...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
2.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Worst Nightmare EVER!

I wish I had seen these reviews before ordering. I'm just another story like the rest. I've been without a kitchen since Aug when our old kitchen was taken out. We got bumped weeks by Home Depot's install schedule, then received cracked base cabinets and wrong pieces (and a month wait between) TWICE from Kraftmaid. No reorders were expedited so another month wait, AND Home Depot's install crew installed upper cabinets and island crooked and/or without using the decorative panels to check the box on a partial install. Now we are in a battle to get a full refund and go elsewhere. Two main problems ... KraftMaid quality is a big issue AND the bix box stores sub out everything to 3rd parties and claim no responsibility. Nobody is accountable to anyone else. Here's how it has gone for us...

June 9 finalized kitchen and waited on door sample to approve glaze color
June 21 wrong sample arrived
June 26 wrong sample arrived again
July 3 asked to sign order to avoid losing sale
July 19 sample finally arrived, but we had driven to another store to see a sample
Aug 14 were told to get granite removed so installers could begin Aug 24
Aug 17 cabinets delivered
Aug 23 installers called and canceled
Aug 24 we complained and installers rescheduled for Aug 27
Aug 27 installers said most base cabinets damaged, fluted fillers wrong size
so they installed uppers only and island. They didn't use fillers and
decorative pieces as plan instructed, so Fridge didn't fit into new opening,
and island missing decorative accents. They also installed wrong size fluted
fillers which hung lower than cabinets into gas oven space, and installed
some robotic hinge contraption KraftMaid sent that takes up the cabinet.
Sept 14 replacement cabinets arrived damaged like first, still waiting on fluted fillers.
Sept 17 we requested full refund & kitchen extraction. No kitchen & starting over.

Do yourself a favor and don't do cabinet business with KraftMaid OR big box stores like Home Depot and Lowes.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Worst Customer Experience

This company does not stand behind their customers. We had an issue with one of their authorized dealers and after 1.5 years of attempting to resolve, we reached out to Kraftmaid for support. They responded that they are “just the manufacturer” and said wouldn’t help us resolve even though we have documentation of the issue. I’ll never order from Kraftmaid again because they do not support their customers. They don’t seem to care who represents their brand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
7.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Excellent Quality- Pricey but worth it

First let me say, this is probably my second review on line for anything [I just read them]. We almost did not buy this brand based on all the negative reviews. Our kitchen designer at HD was so good, we took a chance anyway on these. Very glad we did. My wife got every option possible so the cost was over $20k just for the cabinets. We installed them ourselves, [2 weeks for base and wall cabs] so I can comment first hand at what the construction was like- no over gluing, finish perfect as it should be, etc.. One small issue with how they installed the metal rack for pots and pans. It came in skewed and had an assembly bolt sheared off. Contacted HD [not factory] as advised and an entire new rack came in a couple weeks- problem solved. I think the interface between the retail store and the factory may be why it went so smooth for us.
Apparently happy customers don't take the time to comment, so there may be a bias in the final tally. For anyone installing themselves, watch alot of YouTube videos, rent a laser level to find the high spot in the floor, and know that everything including the ceiling is not flat and square. Good luck.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH BY FAR...SORRY TO SAY..BUT THEY ARE HORRIBLE!!!

They are TERRIABLE...go somewhere else....you have been warned...!!!

Order mine through home depot another incompetent .... 20,000 dollars + in Kraftmaid cabinets...
on
1/18/2018
today
6/21/2018
still waiting with no one from the company able to tell me reasonably why...
I don't have my missing broom cabinet door??
go figure...
NOT TO MENTION...THE MANY MANY MISTAKES MADE ON OTHER DOORS SUCH AS: WRONG COLOR, DAMAGES AND WRONG SIZES MADE AND SHIPPED TO ME DURING THIS PROCESS AS WELL!!!
been given the
run around from some dotard name Doug... at the company supposedly a supervisor with no sense of urgency to rectify wrongs made by his incompetent company...Amazing!

So FORGET them!...save your money and the head aches that goes with Kraftmaid and go somewhere else...

BE WELL...
AND HAVE A GREAT ONE!!!

R.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

why never craftmaid

If you order from Kraftmaid it is likely that you used a big box store. IF so you are in trouble right there cause Kraftmaid assumes no responsibility once that has happened. There cabinets are poorly maid, usually out of square,my doors aren't even glued in they rattle back and forth with the inset panel. The finish also varies from door to door and drawer to drawer. Then theres the shipping. they make no effort to protect the cabinet on the body of the cabinet, only the tops and bottoms have any packing, so its only the thin cardboard that protects the cabinet. So the sides of the cabinet can come in beat to a pump. That's when the fun starts. If you get one or more like that, then you start all over with the making and shipping process if they even do it. The first time they said they were making anew cabinet for me, they lied and actually did nothing. For ward several weeks and they actually started making the cabinet. It came in broke and poorly made as well. Third cabinet will hopefully come in in several more weeks Particle board construction, don't expect much as cabinet will dent on the sides extremely easy

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Fantastic Cabinets

I don't normally write reviews, but I felt compelled due to all the negativity on here about Kraftmaid.

We ordered a full kitchen and bathroom vanity from Kraftmaid. We have been so impressed with the quality as well as the look of our cabinets. They offered a very modern look that was perfect with our house.

We had no issues with what was shipped, and were thoroughly impressed by their packaging as nothing was damaged.

We would highly recommend

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Avoid kraftmaid cabinets

After purchasing Kraftmaid cabinets and having them installed in a new home, about half of the doors hit each other. We had read where they had a problem with full overlay doors doing this but if installed with spacers it would not happen- well it still happens. Called customer service and they could have cared less. Asked them to furnish some restrictor clips to limit doors opening to 90 degrees and they said yes for a dollar a piece!! After spending $15,000 on new cherry cabinets they should furnish. Unless you want your doors to hit get another brand.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Finish 
 
9.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Do not get Themofoil full overlay

We bought a condo where the previous owner renovated the kitchen with KraftMaild kitchen cabinets. All the cabinets are white, with laminate over the wood. It looks nice and clean, but some problems have not appeared. Of the 29 doors in the kitchen, 5 of the overlays have now pealed off the cabinet fronts. Evidently, the glue has dried out, and the overlays have popped off the wood. KraftMaid will not replace the bad doors, because we are not the original owners.

Stay away from these this type of cabinets.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Finish 
 
6.0
Durability 
 
6.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
4.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Square and straight

I am home builder and also do remodels in central Indiana. I have used Kraftmaid for the last 5 projects this year and I am not at all impressed with the quality I have been seeing. On one project I had a corner cabinet that was out of square by a 1/8'" I had large wall cabinets for the laundry room that the fronts were bowing out by 1/4" and a large 5' door that was warped and the top and the bottom were not able to make contact with the cabinet front. I am currently doing another project using Kraftmaid and we are installing door panels over the 8' oven end panels and refrigerator end panels and we had one door panel out of square by 1/8" and we had other door panels that were all to be the same width but the width measurements were off by 1/8" The reseller told me the 1/8" is the tolerance for doors but when you put four panels together on a large end panel it is very noticeable. I was told this is what to expect with a production cabinet line. My response back was to ask them the car they drive and if that came off a production line. I am done using Kraftmaid.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Warranty 
 
5.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0

Lowe's plus Kraftmaid = Bad Combo

Today is October 4, 2017. We ordered our Kraftmaid cabinets from Lowe's on June 26, and we are still without a kitchen. It took four weeks for Kraftmaid to deliver our cabinets. Then it took a week for Lowe's to come and inspect the cabinets, and they found three pieces, which were shipped from Kraftmaid with damage. One piece was not completely stained, one piece had a large dent and another piece had the joints exposed from bad construction. Then it took three weeks for those replacements to arrive. On August 28, Lowe's installers completely botched the installation and ruined some of our cabinets. We had to hire new (competent) installers to completely disassemble the kitchen and reinstall everything. (Which Lowe's paid for, to their credit.) The replacement pieces for the re-install were finally ordered by Lowe's on September 12. The estimated delivery of the remaining parts is October 16. I will NEVER use or recommend Kraftmaid or Lowe's. The fact that Kraftmaid has kept us in a holding pattern for a total of 12 weeks, waiting for parts is just ridiculous and unacceptable. I am hoping the cabinets hold up better than some of the reviewers have experienced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Kraftmaid Cherry Cabinets

We just had the bathroom of my dreams completed. It is even better than I could have ever expected! It was not bargain priced, but I feel it was fair for the excellent quality that we received. I would highly recommend Kraftmaid cabinets to anyone. I had them put into my last kitchen (about 16 years ago) and they have held up beautifully.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.7
Finish 
 
7.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Poor cabinet box construction, chipped shelves.

I would not buy Kraftmaid cabinets, nor buy them thru Home Depot either. I purchase six cabinets for use in my dining room three base and three wall, they arrived May 13th. The base cabinets were ok, the three wall were not good..I had two dents on the end, but not on the shipping box, so they were shipped this way. All the shelves were chipped like they were cut with a dull blade, one door had a smear in the finish. The biggest problem the top and the bottom of the boxes were stapled in crooked. I didn't notice this until I started to hang them, I went to Home Depot June 9th and told them, I had guests coming for dinner in a week and needed to install them, the cabinet people told me it was ok because they were damaged, defective and what I ordered was not correct either, I had paid from plywood boxes and didn't get them. They told me to take pictures and send them in, I did on June 9th. On June 22nd I sent another e-mail, still no response, I went by the store the next day and asked, they said they will need to contact the Kraftmaid rep, three weeks later they denied the claim because I installed them. I was lied to by Home Depot they told me it was ok, and two of the three cabinets were already up. This has dragged on until this last week of August, I contacted Customer Care, and they went round and round with the store and the Mfg. The cabinets are made wrong is the issue and Kraftmaid does not want to stand by their work, I bought these thinking I was getting quality cabinets and I didn't,when I put my glasses in the cabinets the bottom is bowed 3/8 of an inch from the middle, and the glasses tilt out 1/4" on each side of the cabinet, this is unacceptable. I planned on doing my entire Kitchen with the same cabinets, I am so happy I found out first hand about the quality of Kraftmaid before I spent 23,000 dollars on my kitchen, these were only 1,500 for the wall and 1,600 for the base cabinets, I'm going to pull the wall cabinets out and throw them in the trash. In the mean time I been speaking with Merillat and they are going to be the ones I use for my next kitchen, they even said they can make me new boxes to replace the crappy Kraftmaid ones. Another' interesting thing though Merillat is owned by Masco which also owns Kraftmaid, but the Merillat seem like better quality. The search does go on though, I'm still looking. If anyone wants me to send them pictures of all the defects I have on these three Kraftmaid cabinets I have, let me know. That way you will have proof about the issues I have had, I can even send you all the e-mails and lack of response from Home Depot early on and how this has dragged out three months. I wouldn't want you to make the same mistake as I have, stay away from Kraftmaid, you will not be happy with them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Happy now? So were we. Just wait a few years.

New construction, new home. Ordered 4 wetbar/kitchenette /bathroom cabinet bases as well as full kitchen cabinets. 

The doors began taking on a strange streaked appearance at 6-7 years into use. It took me until year 8 to contact them with photos and description. It took them 4 months to send a rep out to inspect them. We were told this streaking was natural and was caused by exposure to the sun, however, the bathrooms have NO exposure to the sun and they are streaked as well. 

What good is a 10-year warranty if they don't stand behind their products. I would never buy their products again nor would I recommend them to anyone else. 

SHAME ON KITCHENMAID

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
10.0

I love my cabinets

We ordered our cabinets through a big box store and the ordering process was very simple and straightforward. The very next day I received a call from Kraftmaid with our delivery date (It was roughly 3 weeks out), and the customer service rep was very friendly and answered all of my questions. About one week prior to delivery, the delivering carrier called me with a four hour window on the very day that Kraftmaid originally scheduled for us. The driver for the delivering company was clearly very familiar with Kraftmaid's delivery procedures and advised that if there was any damage to the contents that I should call the retailer as soon as possible, and take photos of the damaged items along with the corresponding labels on the boxes. He also gave me a packing list against which we could check the order as we unboxed the cabinets. One door was slightly dented, and one of the cabinets had a door missing so I called the store and within an hour they confirmed that Kraftmaid would be sending replacements directly to my home. I was completely satisfied with the delivery process.

The cabinets themselves were all square, the hardware works flawlessly and the Dove White finish was completely perfect. The 1/2" plywood boxes we ordered appear to be well made and solid and are just beautiful. Install was very simple and all of the required fasteners were included (and then some).

All in all, I'm very satisfied with Kraftmaid.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Please don't buy!

This is so depressing to even write about! The last five months have been total hell for me due to Lowes!  I had already suffered a fire in my kitchen so having a new kitchen put in was not my decision it was one I was forced to have to make!  I went into Lowes on January 3 hoping they would help me get my kitchen back in order!  I worked with XXXXX in kitchens and she ordered the Allen and Roth cabinets that she highly recommended!  So I got the phone call of their delivery date and two days before my contractor tore out my entire kitchen!  So I literally had walls in my kitchen left!  When my contractor opened these boxes one after the other they were so unfinished paint still missing, you could see the lines where they were put together, broken doors,  split cabinets, and the best one of all was the center one that was totally out of square so much that the door front didn't even close! For the since base cabinet they wanted you to build it yourself!  They basically just sent the drawer front!  It was a mess and need I remind you I have 2 children at home and no kitchen sink or appliances!  So what started out as me getting a hotel for a couple of weeks ended up being me getting a hotel for almost 3 months!  I live in Richmond Hill and the closest hotel with a working kitchen was in Savannah which is 30 minutes from me so driving round trip every school day to take my children back and forth one hour round trip for 3 months was no fun either!  Lowes promised to make this right first working with XX and he said over and over again they would make this right!  I ordered a white shaker style cabinet.  They said they would order them now from Kraftmaid since the quality was so poor and badly made this time.  I was fine with that I just wanted them in as soon as possible since I didn't have a kitchen and was having to live in a hotel! These cabinets came in 4 weeks later and I was so excited just to be disappointed again!  All of my drawer fronts where a solid flat white surface! There was one cracked down the inside front and hinges were coming off!  scratch on one!  The pantry was missing a sliding drawer!  No time pieces were sent!  So back to lowes I went this is at this point my 8th visit to the store about my kitchen problems!  Calling this store and trying to get someone on the phone is next to impossible!  The only time I would get anything done is if I went in there and was talking to someone directly!  They said they would order new drawer fronts on all cabinets so that the paint would match! Today is May 21 and I am still missing my kitchen drawer front is still missing along with my pantry, and trash can!  I came in and spoke with XXX which he agreed to adjust my bill by some which is reality he just matched the current ad that they were offering if you ordered Kraftmaid cabinets at that particular time!  So in reality I got nothing cause if I would have walked in and made a new order that particular day I would have gotten the same price!  This was done by manager XXX cause now at this point I was being passed on to someone else cause no one wanted to deal with this!  It was 2 more weeks before I got new drawer fronts and they are coming in pieces!  one or two at a time!  My contractor started opening the boxes and realized they were coming in just the door or drawer front and not predrilled or anything that he had to try and match everything up so very difficult and so he walked off the job after I had already paid him extra to deal with all these mess ups by XXXX and Kraftmaid!  I had to find another contractor willing to finish the job it was very frustrating but how could I blame him he thought he would have this kitchen completed in mid February at the latest not into May and were still dealing with this!  I reached out to XXXX at this point cause I had all of these old drawer and door fronts that he had replaced still at my house and not sure what to do with them he assured me that he would have someone pick them up the following day and guess what no show!  Left messages for him to call me back and never did left message for xxxx no call back!  I can not tell you how long I spend sitting on hold waiting just for them to come back and take a message or put me in a voicemail!  After Thursday I again made a 30 minute drive into Savannah to discuss this with XXXX again to find out why these drawer front had not been picked up like he promised!  I loaded them up in the car with my son and took them back myself!!  When I got there I spoke with XXXX and he had nothing to say!  Asked when I would get my four drawer front that I still have not received and he said they would check on that and call me back now having XXXXX in kitchen take over well guess what two weeks later again and no work from Donna Mark or anyone!!  I feel like Lowes did not give a crap about me or what my family has gone through all because their kitchen expert did not do her job from the start!  Did I mention thatI have MS and the worst thing for me is stress and that I was even hospitalized at one point because of all the stress from this!  I had to hire another contractor costing me $1500 BECAUSE OF THE MISTAKES MADE BY THEM!  The worst experience of my life and I do not recommend Lowes or Kraftmaid for cabinets to anyone! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Do not buy!!!

This company is terrible! They discontinued our stain color while we were re-doing our kitchen, so now I have an unfinished kitchen with no way to get the rest of the trim I need in the right color. I ordered the cabinets through home depot and they placed the order incorrectly, so I returned the wrong pieces and now I have no way to get the right pieces. (this is after HD assured me that I would always be able to get my trim color in perpetuity). Spend your money elsewhere!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

WISH I'D READ THESE REVIEWS FIRST

Ordered cabinets in February. Rep had a question about the order and rather than ask the question, blew off the order.A month later, got the cabinets: half damaged in shipping. Promised expedited replacements. Here it is May and still no replacements. Rep took no responsibility,made no attempt to contact us. Can't blame Lowe's, they've done all they can. Just read here that Dove White yellows and can't hold up to heat. Really looking forward to having to deal with them again when our's start falling apart.! Sure wish I'd read these reviews before I blew $18K !

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Yup...they're crap!

Four years ago I had a brand new kitchen installed with dove white painted cabinets from Kraftmaid. These cabinets were NOT cheap and I was excited to get the kitchen of my dreams. The first set came and my contractor installed them. I started putting dishes away and thought they were dirty because the insides of the doors looked almost moldy. I called the place I got them from and they had the Kraftmaid manager come to the house. He agreed that they looked bad and said something about they had instituted new painting techniques that were not working. They sent all new doors.

Fast forward three years and the finish on the cabinets is failing miserably. Two of the doors are yellowing, paint is peeling from others, a few doors have cracks in the finish. Went back to the building supplier where we purchased the cabinets and another Kraftmaid rep came out to look at them. He immediately said the yellowed cabinets were the result of epoxy coming to the surface and it's something they have seen on other cabinets. Obviously a known defect. They are replacing about 3/4 of the doors but the warranty doesn't cover the cost of removing and installing the new doors.

This is ridiculous. These doors have a known defect and I had to pay for the original install and now i have to pay to have them taken out and replaced.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Mrs

I have shaker white maple cabinets in Dove white. They are only 15 months old and 2 months ago I looked at the cabinets and at least 15 (upper and lower) cabinet doors have yellowed in various areas and do not come out with cleaning. They are in random areas and not necessarily confined to near the stove. I have never used harsh cleaners on them. In addition I have noticed that they ding easy and require a lot of maintenance. The seams are very visible as well. I am extremely disappointed in the quality. We bought through Lowes and we called them and they contwct d Kraftmaid. A rep didncall us back within a few days of us calling Lowes and verbally stated they would replace the doors if/when we send pics of the cabinets to prove the yellowing. That should be fun since it is hard for it to show up on pictures. I will update my post when we here back from them. Regardless. Having to go through this within a the first 2 years is extremely frustrating

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Finish 
 
4.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

This product is crap

New single sink vanity w/ quartz top and two 48 inch towers installed about six months ago. Product is white maple painted. All the 45s on the doors are separating. pictures were sent to Home Depot about a month ago, haven't heard a word since. This product is not cheap but it isn't much better than contractors grade.Yes I have an exhaust fan in the bathroom!!! be advised, stay away from this company.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

The Krap that is Kraftmaid

Purchased a kitchen of Kraftmaid Cabinets, which cost over $13,000 delivered. Cabinet doors were not sized properly. Cabinet doors next to each other could not be opened at the same time since they bumped into each other and one open door prevented a second one from opening without breaking the cabinet box. Cabinet hinges were of the lowest quality in the series, not adjustable, of course, for door sizes that were too large for the openings. There was NO customer service. The first response was that the rep would replace the problematic doors. When he learned that that ALL of the doors were incorrectly sized and that they were swelling and expanding, he renegged and was EXTREMELY rude about not warranting his issue. The only person with whom I was "allowed" communication was a Home Depot rep who was useless. After filing a formal complaint, I was relegated to some automatons in one of the Carolinas who were "partnering with their associates to help". They offered me $200 to repair the cabinets myself. Unbelievable! Now, two years later, the doors are still overlapping, Theyare scraped and crushed at the places in which two doors could not be opened at the same time. There are STILL no people in my location who can repair these doors. And I am stuck with "KRAP!" Do not purchase anything Kraftmaid. Please do not support this company that produces poor quality and does not care about its customers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Satisfied Customer

I have Kraftmaid cabinets in my kitchen, bathrooms and office. My kitchen and office cabinets are 7 years old and my bath cabinets are 5 years old. All cabinets are Cherry with solid wood doors and stained finish. I have been very happy with my cabinets from delivery to today. As one reviewer wrote, the doors of her cherry wood cabinets were not stained evenly, that is cherry wood. I love the fact that I have one large door made of 3 pieces of edge glued wood and all 3 pieces have a different grain and shade of stain. Just know this before you buy. I have been very happy with the warranty. When my kitchen cabinets were being installed my contractor hit one of the doors and cracked the wood. It was quickly replaced without question. Last week I called Kraftmaid to get 4 new gas struts for two vertical lift cabinets, those struts arrived in 2 days at no cost to me. I did not have the problems other reviewers have mentioned. I highly recommend Kraftmaid cabinets. In a few years I will be building a new house and I promise you it will have all Kraftmaid cabinets.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
3.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Kraftmaid Cabinets

Purchased mid level Kraftmaid white film covered cabinets. Since owning these cabinets the film cover has peeled back on every door, drawer, and divider at least twice now.  Kraftmaid has held to their warranty and replaced them, but, at what point can I stop having to call them and have them replaced?

An insider has told me they have lost millions of dollars on this design / manufacturing flaw. I keep looking for the class action lawsuit. 

I get it, my 15K in cabinets is nothing to them, to me, it is a lot of money. 

Don't waste your time and or money. Just terrible.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
5.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Poor quality, poor customer service

Twelve years old and the finish is peeling off. Three of the cabinets look like they have sat out in the rain for 3 or 4 years. Very disappointing, stay away from these guys.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Thermofoil

I purchased Kraftmaid from Loew's several years ago. My delivery was perfect as was installation. When the thermofoil started coming off...kraftmaid sent and installed replacements. It happened again and they replaced several cabinets again. After that, and several years later Kraftmaid called me and stated they "discovered the issue with the adhesive" related to the thermofoil and wanted to replace all my cabinets fronts...and they did....43 to be exact. 3 years later the thermofoil is coming off again. Needless to say this was an expensive kitchen and when I purchased my cabinets... I was told they were kitchen cabinets by Lowe's and Kraftmaid. Now I am being told by Kraftmaid...it is a heat source that causes the damage...like an oven, stove or toaster. They will send me replacements but I have to pay for installation. So...I guess they will sell a defective product even though they are aware of the problem. I believe they should have been honest at the time of purchase...I believe they should install the replacements that I need...but they expect me to pay for the install even though they know it is defective. I guess I will be looking forward to a life of replacing cabinets...thought I would not have anything to do in my retirement years. I am really disappointed as I love my cabinets. Up to this point I felt Kraftmaid was a pretty good company...not so much anymore.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
6.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Horrible customer service and delivery

First shipment delivered with 6 broken cabinets, some manufacturing issues and some delivery issues. Replacement cabinets took 5 weeks. No apology, no sympathy, nothing! Just they'll get there when they get there.

Scheduling the second delivery took 7 phone calls---yes, 7, to the main number to the local number...no one would assist me until I finally got lucky and a live person answered the phone and I said I would be available any day any time---just trying to get the cabinets!

Rude, unapologetic, terrible delivery service, and manufacturing defects---NOT RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Don't Buy Kraftmaid

XXX sold me on kraftmaid and I am very disappointed with the quality, support and overall waiting for the right product. For example, I have a shipment coming on a replacement cabinet and of course kraftmaid is sending the wrong one again. There were supposed to send two cabinets and of course it's my fault that only one is coming. I have several cabinets in the garage waiting to be replaced and picked up. I spent over $9000 on these cabinets, so these are not warranty replacement cabinets. I am still working on the new cabinets coming that are what they are supposed to be. Kraftmaid still cannot get it right. 40 year old company and yet they are delivering damaged, wrong cabinet, wrong stain, wrong wood. What a joke. The delivery people have authorization to take wrong cabinets back, but they lie and tell you they cannot. If I had to do it all over again I would go with a different company. I got hoodwinked into buying kraftmaid by lowe's that claimed this company had their cap together. Believe me that is a lie. Would never recommend them to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
6.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
3.0

Should have went with real wood cabinets

My cabinets are 17 years old. The lower cabinets are still in great shape and my only complaint with them is when trying to replace the drawers after a thorough cleaning, it is a nightmare. The upper cabinets however are a major disappointment. Of the eight upper cabinets, two are no longer useable for anything other than cereal or other light items. My set of dishes sets on my counter because evidently the weight of them caused my cabinets to sag and pull apart. I used to keep some canned goods in another cabinet, but it too is unfit for anything now too. I guess if you regularly eat off of lightweight paper or plastic dishes, these cabinets would be an awesome deal. Now I have to remove the cabinets and try to repair/reinforce them until I can afford to rplace them. You can bet when I do replace them, I will either go with a better brand or have my cabinets custom made out of real wood!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
9.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
9.0

these reviews are ridiculous

Cannot believe all of these negative comments-I am a kitchen designer and have just finished remodeling-I decided to use Kraftmaid and have been pleased with everything-No time to read all this garbage-Disgruntled people apparently have nothing to do except write bad reviews-so wrong

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
6.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
6.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Unhappy with quality

Retailer said theses were high end cabinets.   Drawers would hold 45 lbs.   wife had 2 Corning bowls and two pie plates on a pull out shelf.   Pulled it out and the screw for the left glide ripped out of the wood.  Retailer says we have to pay for deconstruction and reconstruction of the island to get the cabinet replaced.   So much for "high" quality cabinetry and the best industry warranty.  We are not happy and will be glad to tell anyone who asks.  

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Worst Customer Service EVER!

I wish there was an option to give a "negative star" rating to this company. My kitchen remodel began in April 2016. It is now September and it is STILL not finished due to what can only be described as gross incompentence on the part of Kraftmaid. While I accept that mistakes get made and I am usually able to roll with the punches, the amount and degree of screw-ups and the lack of the company caring about said screw-ups is absolutely ridiculous. To begin with, several cabinets arrived incorrect (wrong dimensions) and/or damaged, which isn't really unheard of, so no big deal since Kraftmaid offered to replace them. However, that meant waiting another 6-8 weeks, which again, would have been fine, had the products not been replaced with items that were further either incorrect and/or damaged. All of the trim pieces for my entire kitchen were packaged with the stained surfaces against each other and no packing material between them, resulting in not a single piece being useable. Again, they were replaced (at another 6-8 week delay), but this was avoidable for about $0.35 worth of packing material. The quality control of the stain application is atrocious and we had to have a furniture refinisher out on 2 separate occasions to fix the stain so that it appeared even (seriously, I don't think their employees even look at things before they go out the door!). Wrong sized and/or damaged pull-out drawers were delivered for the pantry and were replaced with drawers that were the correct size but had the wrong rail mounting system. When my fiancé called to have them replaced for the second time, he even did Kraftmaid's job of looking up the correct item # and telling them exactly what to order. The next set of replacement drawers were the wrong size. The set they sent after that was damaged, because again, they apparently have children or poorly-trained monkeys supervising the packaging of their products. Each of these replacements comes with yet another delay. Finally after MULTIPLE replacements of the same products, we have pieces that are usable. I won't say they are correct because they were still damaged but we can't wait another month or two to complete this job, so we've fixed them ourselves. In all of this, not once has Kraftmaid expressed any desire to "make things right" other than to continue sending us subpar product. And, they don't take back any of the damaged and defective product, so in addition to them wasting thousands of dollars on unusable product instead of just getting it right the first (or the second, or the third time), I'm now stuck with an entire garage full of crap product that I have to arrange for disposal of.

The only saving grace for this sh*t-show of customer service is the knowledge that, not only will no one I know purchase from this company, but my contractor (who deals with a whole lot of people buying cabinets) will be steering everyone he encounters clear of this company.

I've dealt with plenty of other companies that have gotten things wrong in the past, but it has always been handled in a professional manner in which the company was apologetic about mistakes and tried their best to make sure that further unnecessary delays were avoided. I've never encountered a company with such low standards and apparently no desire to foster food customer relations. Kraftmaid has shown zero desire to offer any kind of compensation or even verbal acknowledgement of our dissatisfaction. I could not ever, in good conscience, recommend this company to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
7.5
Finish 
 
7.0
Durability 
 
9.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
7.0
Quality 
 
7.0

Solid Construction, Issues with Finishes

Kraftmaid offered the options we needed to make our kitchen the way we wanted it to be. The Lowes designer was excellent and knew the Kraftmaid product very well, so our expectations were well-managed.

The cabinets arrived right when they said they would, and the delivery matched every item on the order. There were many line items (over 50) and it all added up. So far so good.

The installers were very good, they made sure the kitchen floors and walls were as level, square and plumb as possible in our crooked 100 year old house. Their careful prep work made the cabinet installation go very smoothly.

The cabinets and drawers are well made from good materials. Everything was solid. Where there were door collisions, we installed invisible hinge restrictors that kept the door opening to 89 degrees, eliminating the interference. All the hardware is good quality and works well.

Where things fell apart somewhat is on the finishes.

1. Our doors are mitered and many arrived improperly joined, with large gaps in the seam. We understand that wood is a natural product that expands and shrinks over time, but this was brand new stuff. The starting point should be as close to perfection as possible. During our remodel, the carpenters cut numerous miter joints for woodwork to trim the doors and windows, and these were perfectly done on portable saws in our driveway. I expect the Kraftmaid doors, built in a climate-controlled factory on CNC machines, to be as good. They were not. The Kraftmaid factory rep visited our house and reviewed our complaints. He mentioned that the standard for a miter joint is "a gap smaller than a credit card." Credit cards are pretty thick. He did replace 9 doors and while we are not 100% satisfied with some others, we are satisfied enough not to pursue it further other than to mention it here.

2. We got one 4 drawer bottom cabinet. The door faces were not aligned with each other nor with the adjacent pieces. There are adjustment brackets, but several of these were screwed in such a way that no adjustment was possible. We ended up redrilling many holes to get these in line.

3. There were several painting flaws: bubbles that didn't burst when they were still wet, and one door had a very thin coat of paint, you could see the wood. Kraftmaid replaced these.

Overall, we are happy with our cabinets and love our new kitchen. But we spent way too much time managing quality issues that could have been avoided with a closer eye back at the factory.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
6.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
5.0

Disapointed

Well to start I didn't expect high quality for the price, "You get what you pay for". But I did expect better than I got.
Part is Lowes. The designer didn't read the disclaimer about the corner units with swing-out draw not being next to appliance. So this unit will not swing all the way out for access to sliding shelves inside.
Small brass hinge on swing out unit too weak to support weight of one Crock-pot.
Requested plywood construction. received plywood framing and shelves. Side paneling 1/16th in laminated particle board. Couldn't they have at least used Masonite?
Soft close hinges block one shelf location. Called Kraft Made and they sent adjustable pins that cannot be used because they are too thick to fit between shelf end and side panel.
Love the appearance, hate the thoughtless design.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

DISGUSTED EXPERIENCE

I will NEVER AGAIN purchase anything made by Kraft Maid and I hope others will read this and all the other upset and disappointed buyers who purchased Kraft Maid cabinets. They're quality control is incredibly substandard. They just could not (or more likely didn't want to further bother after several attempts) get the overall wood stain even. We originally purchased these in December 2015 and after 8 months of my "thanked patience" they STILL COULD NOT GET IT RIGHT! I purchased the cherry wood with a honey finish. The stain was SO UNEVEN from the finished product. The doors looked like there were 5 different stain colors used. When I initially inquired about one part of the sample that had an eyesore of what looked like an unstained streak, I was informed I needn't worry because the door would be replaced. I never dreamed that kind of inconsistency was THE NORM! I've worked with unfinished cherry wood myself and I never had the level of inconsistency in the wood stain and finish that this company has demonstrated. The experience I had was that Kraft Maid would rather keep producing off their assembly line substandard quality control stained cabinet doors rather than truly satisfy their customers. I paid a lot of money for these cabinets (had to pay the total amount up front at Home Depot) and it is disgraceful what I went through with them. I will NEVER AGAIN purchase any product from Kraft Maid again and will warn every and any person I come across thinking of remodeling or looking to purchase a new home to purchase Kraft Maid cabinetry.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

WORST Experience EVER!

KraftsMaid quality was extremely poor (paint chips at seams, warped cabinets, and glue oozing from seams). Considering price is nearly DOUBLE other retailers, I expected top-notch quality and service - which we never got. After spending $20k on a kitchen at Home Depot, we had to return/exchange items over 8 times! KraftsMaid was not willing to compensate us to make us happy either. Will never buy from them again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

POOR QUALITY & WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE

I recently purchased kitchen cabinets from Lowe’s in April 2016. I was told that KraftMaid makes some of the best kitchen cabinets by the Lowes salesman so I decided to buy it. I paid $16,500 for cherry wood cabinets. it took over a month to finish and delivery. When the installer opened boxes, to our surprise, some products are not in good condition, he wrote a long list of items with defects ( e.g., cut with wrong size, scratch, inconstant color painted, etc.), We expected our kitchen project is done by July, However, KraftMaid care is not motivated to speed up the replacement process. REALLY DISAPPOINTMENT with this vendor .

Was this review helpful to you? 
View all user reviews