Kraftmaid

 
9.0
 
4.2 (87)
Compare
Write Review
Kraftmaid

Company Address

P.O. Box 1055
Middlefield, Ohio 44062
1-888-562-7744

Warranty

As long as you own the cabinets

Door Styles Available

  • Shaker
  • Arched
  • Raised Panel
  • Flat Panel

Wood Used

  • Oak
  • Maple
  • Cherry
  • Hickory
  • Birch

For more than 40 years, KraftMaid has been committed to the needs of our customers.

We’re an industry leader and one of the largest built-to-order cabinet manufacturer in the United States, helping more customers create the home of their dreams than any other cabinet manufacturer in the world.

Our cabinets are constructed here in the United States. With more than 1.5 million square feet of manufacturing facilities in Northeast Ohio, we bring you the same kind of hand-crafted all-wood, dovetail drawer boxes and I-beam constructed cabinets that we sold from our modest shop over 40 years ago.

Why choose KraftMaid? Because semi-custom kitchen cabinets give you the perfect blend of style, selection, and affordability.

With semi-custom cabinetry, you get to enjoy customizing your cabinetry design without the steep prices and extended lead times that often go with fully-customized cabinets. Our product is 100% built-to-order. Through state-of-the-art construction methods, we use the finest materials to build each cabinet to your exact specifications. You choose your door style and the type of material for your semi-custom kitchen cabinets, whether that’s oak, cherry, maple, birch or hickory. Then, you complete your cabinet design with your choice of finish and decorative hardware.

Editor review

1 reviews

Good selection of options
(Updated: February 19, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
9.0
Kraftmaid has a great selection of doors and cabinet styles. Their warranty, as long as you own the cabinets, is one of the best in the industry. They offer many "custom" options and the only drawback to buying their cabinets is that they are on the more expensive side for semi custom cabinets. If you are considering these cabinets, you will end up with quality cabinets.
A
Comments (5) | Was this review helpful to you? 171 50

User reviews

87 reviews

9-10 stars
 
(11)
7-9 stars
 
(8)
5-7 stars
 
(9)
3-5 stars
 
(18)
1-3 stars
 
(41)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
4.3  (87)
Durability 
 
4.1  (87)
Warranty 
 
4.4  (87)
Custom Options 
 
5.2  (87)
Price / Value 
 
3.6  (87)
Quality 
 
3.5  (87)
View all reviews
Already have an account?
Ratings
Finish
How is the finish on your cabinets?
Durability
How durable is the cabinet finish?
Warranty
How is their warranty
Custom Options
Did they offer all of the options you wanted?
Price / Value
How was the price and value of the cabinets?
Quality
What is the overall quality of the cabinets?
Reviewer Terms
PLEASE READ!!! Your contact information must be valid and you must validate your account for your review to be posted! An email will be sent to you right after you submit your review. Please validate your account. If the email bounces or your account is not validated, or if you provide false information in any way, your review will not be published. It is the responsibility of Kitchen Cabinets Reviews to provide honest and valid reviews and we appreciate you taking the time to add your thoughts. For Complete Terms and Conditions, click here:

Terms and Conditions

Comments
You will be able to upload media right after you submit your review.
Disappointing
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Very disappointed. Broken roll-out shelf, scratches on cabinets, missing cabinet door, missing hinges, missing drawer front, glue slopped all over the back of four cabinets that we had to remove, several dovetail joints had pulled apart and one cabinet had the finish on the wrong side. All of this added to the installation cost, installation time and frustration. Makes Home Depot look really bad. The Kraftmaid rep was asked by Home Depot to refund us some money to compensate us for their poor quality but was told "no". In other words, they do not stand behind there products and their customer service is horrible. We spent almost $17,000 on cabinets. We will never buy cabinets from them again.
P
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Paint is horrible
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Cabinet construction is good but the paint chips constantly and is very poor quality. Looks horrible. I should have known when so many doors had to be replaced at the time of installation that is was only going to get worse.
W
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Custom Kitchen Cabinet Fiasco
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
6.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
2.0
In 2011 I ordered a custom kitchen from Kraftmaid through Home Depot
and had a 100% positive experience. I felt that I received good value for
my money. When we needed another kitchen in a different house I didn’t
hesitate to go back to them again.

When the cabinets arrived we found that all of the doors and drawer faces
had splits at the corners. (Pictures of the showroom sample, and one of the
doors we received attached). I reported this problem to Home Depot, who
contacted Kraftmaid. An on-site meeting was scheduled with the store
representative and a Kraftmaid factory representative.

The first response was that it was normal for mitered corner doors to separate.
When I pointed out that I wouldn’t have ordered that door style if I had known,
and that the showroom samples weren’t separating, the next try was that
they would “probably” close back up after the cabinets were fully adjusted
to the temperature and humidity in the house. Although skeptical, I agreed
to wait and see.

10 days later, when it was evident that nothing had changed we started a
replacement order for all new doors and drawer faces in a different style that
was constructed with butt joints, not mitered corners.

Weeks went by. When the replacements were finally delivered I had to pay our
contractor to remove all the defective elements and return them to the store
for credit before the replacements were released. On unpacking the order he
discovered that one of the doors was a different style - which required a new
order and several more weeks delay. Electing to install what we had, we next
discovered that one replacement door was missing entirely from the order. A
new order was placed, with several more weeks delay. When that door finally
arrived it was the right style but the wrong size. Another order - with several
more weeks delay. That order was delayed because the company said the one
they
made didn’t pass internal “quality” inspection. The one they shipped a bit later
had
a large noticeable crack in it. We had to refuse it. Finally we have all corrected
elements - SIX MONTHS after the site meeting about defective construction.

I give high marks to Michelle and her team at the Rio Grande, NJ Home Depot
for trying to manage this mess with good humor. I never received any sort of
apology from Kraftmaid.

This custom kitchen is average quality at best. This time I don’t feel that I got
good value for my twelve thousand dollar investment. I wish I had contracted
with a local cabinet shop where quality still matters.

Like many things these days, Kraftmaid seems to have changed from the
company it once was. Things are missing - important things - like attention to
detail, craftsmanship, and customer service. I won’t ever buy another kitchen
from Kraftmaid, and I can’t recommend the company to anyone else.
Kraftmaid_CMPT
Kraftmaid_CMPT_2
I
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Very Disappointed
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
DISAPPOINTED
We redid our kitchen in 2004 and ordered Kraftmaid Hickory cabinets. They were absolutely beautiful with a combination of light and dark grains. It was that contrast that made us buy those cabinets. However, they didn't stay that way. Over time the dark grain disappeared and it's original look was gone. Having called Kraftmaid to find out why I was told that that is what happens with natural wood. Not being a wood expert or carpenter I had no idea about that. Had I known the cabinets would not retain their appearance I would never have ordered them. At the barest minimum I should have been advised by the seller that this would happen so I could have made a more informed decision. Will not purchase Kraftmaid products again.
R
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Very Happy
Overall rating 
 
8.2
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
8.0
I wanted to come back to this website to review my KraftMaid cabinets after they were installed.
Most of these reviews made me nervous after I had already purchased them and was waiting for delivery.
We got our cabinets and two doors did have minor damage. We contacted our Home Depot salesman and replacement doors were ordered and received fairly quickly. I have to wonder if the excessive damage people are reporting is from the delivery and not from KraftMaid.
We are very happy with our cabinets and feel they are a great middle of the road option within our price point. We love the quality of the soft close doors and drawers. We had a list of things we wanted to accomplish with our kitchen and were able to do that with KraftMaid. We got a pullout base pantry for spices, deep drawers for pots and pans, double layer drawer for silverware, two partitioned drawers to keep larger utensils organized. These are just a few examples.
I feel for people who had bad experiences, but also wanted to give my positive experience. I would buy these cabinets again without hesitation.
ADD059F6-09A1-4A82-A568-058E4D0098BA
L
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
20 years and still love them
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
10.0
I have raised my kids, 2 dogs, 2 cats, had countless huge family gatherings and have loved these cabinets every day they have been in my home. They still look fantastic. A little dated but they are in excellent shape. The quality was fantastic. We have had one door there was a small issue with at first. It was replaced no questions asked. They have stood up to a rough household. They were not treated with delicate care. And I can honestly say I am sorry so many had trouble with theirs bc I really couldn't love mine more. I would definitely buy Kraftmaid again but I don't need too bc they are probably gonna last a long long time.
Resized_20200201_135219
A
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
Total Disappointment
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
I ordered my new kitchen cabinets from Kraftsmaid through Lowes on 11-8-19. The cabinets were delivered to my home on 12-24-19. I started to have the cabinets installed but then noticed that every single item I opened had a defect or was damaged. I emailed the Lowes and Kraftsmaid representatives pictures and descriptions of the items, who subsequently scheduled a visit to my home. All of the damage was not even entirely from shipping; it was in manufacturing and packaging! The drawer faces were sent separately and not prepped for installation. I was told that Kraftsmaid would send out replacements for all the faulty products. I was willing to accept replacements however I was not willing to drill holes in the cabinets for hinges and drawer face mounting. I was offered $350 to find someone to drill the holes but I declined. I paid well over $10,000 for these cabinets and I expected a complete order. Kraftsmaid then said that Lowes installer would put these peices together however Lowes then told me they would not take the responsibility.
I have decided to return the entire kitchen and will be bringing this to Lowes myself tomorrow since I was told that Kraftsmaid would not pick up from my house where they delivered it. I am now almost 3 months without a kitchen. I am totally disgusted with the customer service and products from Kraftsmaid.
CD
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Do not recommend
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Beautiful white paint cabinets but quality of paint finish is awful. After only four years of use, outside of a few cabinet doors are peeling. I was told by Customer service that it was due to water damage... which is not true. They said excess of water when possibly washing the floor. This floor has been washed on hands and knees and water has not been splashed on cabinets. I am so disappointed in the customer service. They could have replaced a few doors for us but instead opted not to, leaving us with no other option.
S
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Painted finishes do not hold up
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
2.0
My painted cabinets are all peeling and cracking and one had actually rotted. The ones affected are the ones near any type of temperature change example stove top, dishwasher and back door. Kraftmaid states that this is normal wear and tear. My cabinets were only 3 years old when signs started. They do not stand by their product.

I have no problem with the stained cabinets Just painted.
JL
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Yes and no
Overall rating 
 
5.3
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
4.0
Warranty 
 
7.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
5.0
I ordered cabinets for my bathroom remodel. The base vanity was fine. The medicine cabinet had many problems. One mirror door arrived broken. A replacement mirror door arrived broken. Finally an intact mirror door arrived. The hinges come completely unassembled and the small parts were a nightmare to install. One of the doors hinges failed immediately and all hinges are fragile. This is not a cheap cabinet and I expected much better quality. Kraftmaid should do better.
R
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Not as good as they used to be
Overall rating 
 
6.3
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
7.0
A little over two years ago, I purchased a home with hickory mission style Kraftmaid cabinets that were about 10 years old. I was happy to find that I could still get the same cabinets, and ordered several. They matched really well, and were good quality with a beautiful furniture finish. Then in the last few months, I again added to my kitchen. The finish has changed drastically, and possibly even the wood. The new cabinets look more like oak than hickory, and the finish is shiny and cheap looking - nothing like the furniture finish of two year old cabinets. Very disappointing, and not worth the money any more.
K
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Looks better on display in store
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
4.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
7.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Looks better in store the doors joints are all clearly visible the cabinet where the microwave goes is cut wavy gap in microwave cabinet. They advertise Blum softclose hinges but used cheap liberty hinges so the door angle destructors they sell do not work and the charge more to ship back. Bumpers missing on sponge pull out in sink garbage can cabinet hard to pull shelves I one cabinet cut crooked falls past clips. My old cabinets were better than these. I purchased at Lowes. I am looking at going with the thomasville cabinets if I can get Lowes to take these back please beware of Kraftsmaid
VB
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
After 7 Years....
Overall rating 
 
7.8
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
7.0
Well, I was looking for a couple doors to match our KraftMaid kitchen cabinets (for a uh, leftover (defective) cabinet and found this review site, so I thought I would post a review... after owning them for 7 years running.

First the good... we don't really have problem with the quality and finish of the cabinets and the functionality of the hardware (hinges and slides). They are holding up well except for where doors bump other doors or cabinets due to overlap. Can't avoid that other than trying to be careful when opening them. Overall, they have held up well.

The worse part of the process was at the beginning when we received our cabinets. I reckon we had to get about 9 door or drawer faces replaced, as well as the entire trash cabinet AND the huge double oven cabinet, all due to blemishes or just not looking right. It was not fun going through that process. I think we ended up maxing out on our allowance of replacements. Reason I gave 7 stars for Quality is because of the bad items we received but we've been happy overall with the quality.

Fortunately, our contractor brought in a good cabinetry guy for the installation and finishing so what we did end up with, has look pretty good, in my opinion.

I surmise it's hard to make every cabinet and door or drawer face perfect at the factory and I think they ship them anyway, hoping that the customer doesn't see or care enough to notice. We were somewhat picky, but for $7000 or whatever it was, we felt we had a right to be.

I don't understand how someone could call what we have Apartment Grade cabinets. They really are much nicer. Maybe other people have purchased a lower grade KitchenMaid product.

We got ours through Lowe's. Have not needed the warranty. It's hard to quantify the Price/Value. I suppose as long as they hold up, it gets better over time. Right now it's $1000/yr of ownership.
GV
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Just not that Good
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
6.0
Warranty 
 
5.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
3.0
I really thought the quality was going to be better. Also, Lowes was not easy to work with through this whole process. If I knew then what I know now, I would have went in a different direction for sure.
Kraftmaid and Lowes--Not a good combination.
A
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 1
Very Satisfied Excellant Service
Overall rating 
 
9.3
Finish 
 
9.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
9.0
It has been several months since we completed our complete kitchen remodel. Wow...it took a looong time. We went through the Home Depot for the project, and generally speaking it went well. the only issue was the countertops, they delayed the whole project significantly. We opted for KraftMaid in canvas finish with a coco glaze. Beautiful color. We added lots of extras, such as crown moldings, polymer construction underneath the sink cabinet as well as plywood construction on several of the key cabinets. The only issue we had was with the seams on several of the doors. You could see the lines through the finish. It simply was not consistent with the quality of the finish. We pointed this out to the company via HD. It was a large kitchen, and at least 30% of the doors had this slight "defect." But I have to admit we NEVER got any blow back from KraftMaid. They replaced EVERYTHING without question. In fact, I now have about 12 extra doors in my garage! Granted, it was a bit of a hassle to wait for the shipping for the replacements; but they always came through. Would do business with both HD and KraftMaid again.
R
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Wish I had never purchased
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
3.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
2.0
I am extremely disappointed that the majority of cabinets I ordered were warped and had to be sent back. I cannot tell you how many have been sent back but at least 7-9 doors/drawer fronts. Then they come back to my Kitchen Designer and are still warped and have to be sent back again. Now they are supposed to be in a special program called Quality Control...have been in this que for weeks and I still don't have them. This kitchen should have been completed by mid-April at the latest and we are into June. The regional and local representative visited my home and made promises that have not been kept. I am a very busy local realtor and I will tell all of my clients to never buy Kraft Maid products. I was patient for weeks but all of my patience is gone now and I am done with Kraft Maid. I like my kitchen designer but she apparently has no pull with Kraft Maid. This is maddening!!! I also forgot to mention that not only were many cabinets warped, many were also chipped and damaged. UGGH!!!
KH
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 5
Kraftmaid-apartment grade cabinets
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
6.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
4.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
4.0
I do not recommend Kraftmaid for any cabinet configuration that Kraftmaid will not fit perfectly. These are suitable for only simple kitchens and look very low-end when complete. My semi-custom cabinets do not the shape of my kitchen and offer far less storage space than my original kitchen. I cannot access plumbing as the cabinets were designed so small. I ordered Maple with Saddle Brown finish. The doors came that color but the frames and side walls came a very different grain and much darker color. The overall look is terrible.
I regret my purchase; again; these are suitable for low-end kitchens only.
RP
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 5
the worst
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
2.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
these were a huge mistake, the cabinets are second rate, the customer service dept is worse, Patrick Lenzi, our area rep., came to the house after months of begging kraftmaid and the retailer that sold us the cabinets. Took pictures did some measurements, never saw him again. Constant attempts to contact him or Kraftmaid customer service have fallen on deaf ears. It's been 8 to 9 months since he came by and we are no further than we were back then. Run away when it comes to Kraftmaid
DB
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 0
Not MY Kraftmaid
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Warranty 
 
4.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
My husband and I signed for our new kitchen on July 28th 2018 with the Home Depot using Kraftmaid cabinets and it is still not finished! We chose white cabinets and we've had to order and reorder over forty door fronts due to imperfections in the finish, waiting weeks between shipments. To make matters worse, a Kraftmaid representative pinned the blame on us, the customer, stating that our standards are too high. A brand new car rolls off the lot with a beautiful finish but Kraftmaid can't seem to produce a door front without imperfections. We didn't purchase this product from the bruised and reduced section! And there is concrete acknowledgement from Kraftmaid regarding their own door finish problems or they wouldn't keep sending replacements. Installation is not within industry standards as we have cabinets coming apart, uneven trim, shims falling out and other problems. Maybe some of it is due to the cabinet that is cut on an angle, which is not square. There is a whole other matter of contention regarding the number of screws that go into the backer- blocks and the slides in the drawers. Multiple representatives from Kraftmaid have given different answers as to how many are needed. We were never satisfied with that. And to top it off, no one has ever given an explanation as to what causes the imperfections in the door finish. Is it the kiln drying ? No one has told us . We didn't expect this lack of quality in the product or kind of treatment from the representative as we received. We are the customer and we don't deserve it.
LA
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 19 6
Never again
Overall rating 
 
6.7
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
$20K purchase through Lowe's of both Kitchen and Bathroom cabinets. Sure a couple came freight damaged, I don't blame Km for that. But as others have remarked I do blame them for all the warped doors and drawer fronts. Lowe's blamed it on the humidity in Florida, but they are in an air conditioned house, and if they can't handle that, they shouldn't sell them here. Lowe's ordered replacements, but many of those came warped straight from Kraftmaid. They must be leaving too much moisture in the wood. Did they sent 3 rounds of replacements, yes. Was it a major inconvenience. you bet it was.
My other complaint is the soft close drawer glides. They flat out don't work. Some close part way, some get close, but few don't need pushing in to look right. Pain in the rear. Soft close on the upper cabinet door hinges do work, but don't seem to be designed right. The doors on the side of the microwave open into the microwave unless you hold onto them. That will eventually mar the finish.
When you spend that much money, and wait as long as we did, your expectation is you will get what was agreed on. I feel cheated. I may have been happy @ say $10K, but @ $20K, I expected more.
GG
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
Disappointed
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
7.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
1.0
I tried hard to be happy with these cabinets. $24,000 worth of maple/dove white kitchen cabinets. The only thing that kept me from telling the company to come and take their cabinets back or we can work this out in court, was the local kitchen designer/reseller -- who bent over backward to make sure things were made right.

Issues included:

Custom cabinet arrived warped, cracked and barely painted. You could also see deep saw marks on the stiles. A junior high wood shop student could have done a better job.

Several cabinets way out of square. We stacked a couple of small cabinets and they were so far out of spec that I had to sand down the sides of them and re-veener them myself just to get them to look right. Imagine spending $24,000 on cabinets and then having to rehab the cabinets yourself just to make them usable?

Several drawers don't close correctly and new hardware will need to be ordered.

Kraftmaid uses the cheapest cardboard boxes with NO padding, for shipping moldings. I had $1000 worth of molding delivered and a couple of boxes were broken open on the ends, and the UPS guy spilled them out onto the driveway when carrying them.

Any issues like this, as they come up, set your schedule back two weeks since you have to re-order replacements from Kraftmaid. We have been without a kitchen now for nearly three months trying to get this project completed. Three months. I could put a complete house up in three months. Unbelievable.

Bottom line, these are contract manufactured for Kraftmaid at various locations around the country. Obviously using low-skilled labor and poor quality control. Everything is held together with glue-gun and staples. The painted finishes are so thin it will be a miracle if they don't wear through on touch-spots after a few months of usage.

Better cabinetry would have cost me another $12,000 so I realize you get what you pay for...but for the prices they get on these cabinets they should not be barely a step above China import product quality.

Very disappointed with this purchase but will now have to live with it.
C
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 0
extremely poor quality control
Overall rating 
 
5.3
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
3.0
We ordered solid maple cabinets with white painted finish and purchased/had them installed via Lowes. We purchased the cabinets and labor in full a year ago and we still are waiting to get defective cabinet doors and microwave shelf replaced. Kraftmaid ships the replacements directly via UPS and it is clear that there are problems with the items that are due to poor quality control and not due to damage during shipping. They have replaced numerous doors and drawer faces, but many of the replacement items had to be replaced more than once. Problems we have experienced: 1) paint entirely missing from door in 1 x 6 inch area. No primer, no paint, just bare wood. 2) Defective drawer box missing parts and not assembled correctly at the factory. 3) Very rough areas that were not properly sanded or filled prior to painting on drawer faces and doors. 4) large cracks in cabinet door and drawer face when removed from shipping boxes 5) cracked and chipped paint falling off microwave shelf. First replacement shelf has warped veneer, chipped paint and large unsightly gaps between veneer and edge of shelf in three separate locations. 6) discoloration in finish bleeding from below, 7) multiple small bumps on door face paint, 8) missing/chipped paint on front of cabinet door along face edge Pros: slide out shelves are convenient, smooth, and solidly built. So far, they have replaced defective parts, but the volume of defects is totally unacceptable. I would not recommend Kraftmaid for painted finish cabinets and regret having gone through Lowes for our kitchen remodel.
EC
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 3
excellent cabinets
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0
We redid our kitchen in 2004 and chose Kraftmaid cabinets and they have are still in excellent condition. Our kitchen is a country kitchen and it is the center of the house so it is a busy place. These cabinets have stood the test of time.
JE
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 6
Kraftmaid = Garbage
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Ordered 3 bathroom base cabinets and one over the counter linen cabinet. It took 5 weeks for delivery. The following day I had my cabinet guy to install them. He started with cutting the boxes and getting the cabinets out. I could not believe my eyes when I saw the conditions of the cabinets. 3 cabinets where broken beyond repairs. Had to pay the guy for his 1/2-day work (he did not work since could not use the cabinets). called the place where I bought them from and was told wait another 4 weeks for the replacement. I tried to return them, however, was told I could not! Kraftmaid products are garbage. I can not believe I ordered them despite of all the terrible reviews. garbage, garbage, garbage
B
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 3
Great Cabinets, Great Customer Service
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0
We put Kraftmaid Cabinets in the new house we built 12 years ago. They still look like brand new. We have pets, grandkids and a lot of company and they are holding up just great. We had no issues when we bought them at lowes but we had a great salesperson at the store which i think makes a world of difference no matter which cabinets you buy. We had one issue with one cabinet that started to pull away from the wall. We called lowes and they ordered us a new cabinet no charge and installed it no questions asked. Apparently there was an issue with the installation. So we are building a new house and we are putting kraftmaid in once again. Believe me we wouldn't do it if we weren't convinced they are great cabinets.
DB
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 5
Garbage
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
We spent$20,000 on cabinets. 90% of them had to be reordered due to flaws on the finish. We were sent warped trim, a smashed pantry, and are over a month behind on install. We have received reordered items in worse shape than the items we had originally received. Since a picture is worth a thousand words, here is a sample of 6 reordered items we received yesterday; keep in my this is a small percentage of issues we are having...
SS
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 19 1
Worst Nightmare EVER!
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
2.0
Price / Value 
 
2.0
Quality 
 
2.0
I wish I had seen these reviews before ordering. I'm just another story like the rest. I've been without a kitchen since Aug when our old kitchen was taken out. We got bumped weeks by Home Depot's install schedule, then received cracked base cabinets and wrong pieces (and a month wait between) TWICE from Kraftmaid. No reorders were expedited so another month wait, AND Home Depot's install crew installed upper cabinets and island crooked and/or without using the decorative panels to check the box on a partial install. Now we are in a battle to get a full refund and go elsewhere. Two main problems ... KraftMaid quality is a big issue AND the bix box stores sub out everything to 3rd parties and claim no responsibility. Nobody is accountable to anyone else. Here's how it has gone for us...

June 9 finalized kitchen and waited on door sample to approve glaze color
June 21 wrong sample arrived
June 26 wrong sample arrived again
July 3 asked to sign order to avoid losing sale
July 19 sample finally arrived, but we had driven to another store to see a sample
Aug 14 were told to get granite removed so installers could begin Aug 24
Aug 17 cabinets delivered
Aug 23 installers called and canceled
Aug 24 we complained and installers rescheduled for Aug 27
Aug 27 installers said most base cabinets damaged, fluted fillers wrong size
so they installed uppers only and island. They didn't use fillers and
decorative pieces as plan instructed, so Fridge didn't fit into new opening,
and island missing decorative accents. They also installed wrong size fluted
fillers which hung lower than cabinets into gas oven space, and installed
some robotic hinge contraption KraftMaid sent that takes up the cabinet.
Sept 14 replacement cabinets arrived damaged like first, still waiting on fluted fillers.
Sept 17 we requested full refund & kitchen extraction. No kitchen & starting over.

Do yourself a favor and don't do cabinet business with KraftMaid OR big box stores like Home Depot and Lowes.
KB
Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 5
Worst Customer Experience
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
This company does not stand behind their customers. We had an issue with one of their authorized dealers and after 1.5 years of attempting to resolve, we reached out to Kraftmaid for support. They responded that they are “just the manufacturer” and said wouldn’t help us resolve even though we have documentation of the issue. I’ll never order from Kraftmaid again because they do not support their customers. They don’t seem to care who represents their brand.
JH
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 0
Excellent Quality- Pricey but worth it
Overall rating 
 
8.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
7.0
Quality 
 
10.0
First let me say, this is probably my second review on line for anything [I just read them]. We almost did not buy this brand based on all the negative reviews. Our kitchen designer at HD was so good, we took a chance anyway on these. Very glad we did. My wife got every option possible so the cost was over $20k just for the cabinets. We installed them ourselves, [2 weeks for base and wall cabs] so I can comment first hand at what the construction was like- no over gluing, finish perfect as it should be, etc.. One small issue with how they installed the metal rack for pots and pans. It came in skewed and had an assembly bolt sheared off. Contacted HD [not factory] as advised and an entire new rack came in a couple weeks- problem solved. I think the interface between the retail store and the factory may be why it went so smooth for us.
Apparently happy customers don't take the time to comment, so there may be a bias in the final tally. For anyone installing themselves, watch alot of YouTube videos, rent a laser level to find the high spot in the floor, and know that everything including the ceiling is not flat and square. Good luck.
D
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 2
WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH BY FAR...SORRY TO SAY..BUT THEY ARE HORRIBLE!!!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
They are TERRIABLE...go somewhere else....you have been warned...!!!

Order mine through home depot another incompetent .... 20,000 dollars + in Kraftmaid cabinets...
on
1/18/2018
today
6/21/2018
still waiting with no one from the company able to tell me reasonably why...
I don't have my missing broom cabinet door??
go figure...
NOT TO MENTION...THE MANY MANY MISTAKES MADE ON OTHER DOORS SUCH AS: WRONG COLOR, DAMAGES AND WRONG SIZES MADE AND SHIPPED TO ME DURING THIS PROCESS AS WELL!!!
been given the
run around from some dotard name Doug... at the company supposedly a supervisor with no sense of urgency to rectify wrongs made by his incompetent company...Amazing!

So FORGET them!...save your money and the head aches that goes with Kraftmaid and go somewhere else...

BE WELL...
AND HAVE A GREAT ONE!!!

R.

R
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 6
why never craftmaid
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
If you order from Kraftmaid it is likely that you used a big box store. IF so you are in trouble right there cause Kraftmaid assumes no responsibility once that has happened. There cabinets are poorly maid, usually out of square,my doors aren't even glued in they rattle back and forth with the inset panel. The finish also varies from door to door and drawer to drawer. Then theres the shipping. they make no effort to protect the cabinet on the body of the cabinet, only the tops and bottoms have any packing, so its only the thin cardboard that protects the cabinet. So the sides of the cabinet can come in beat to a pump. That's when the fun starts. If you get one or more like that, then you start all over with the making and shipping process if they even do it. The first time they said they were making anew cabinet for me, they lied and actually did nothing. For ward several weeks and they actually started making the cabinet. It came in broke and poorly made as well. Third cabinet will hopefully come in in several more weeks Particle board construction, don't expect much as cabinet will dent on the sides extremely easy
TB
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Fantastic Cabinets
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0
I don't normally write reviews, but I felt compelled due to all the negativity on here about Kraftmaid.

We ordered a full kitchen and bathroom vanity from Kraftmaid. We have been so impressed with the quality as well as the look of our cabinets. They offered a very modern look that was perfect with our house.

We had no issues with what was shipped, and were thoroughly impressed by their packaging as nothing was damaged.

We would highly recommend
B
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 4
Avoid kraftmaid cabinets
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
1.0
After purchasing Kraftmaid cabinets and having them installed in a new home, about half of the doors hit each other. We had read where they had a problem with full overlay doors doing this but if installed with spacers it would not happen- well it still happens. Called customer service and they could have cared less. Asked them to furnish some restrictor clips to limit doors opening to 90 degrees and they said yes for a dollar a piece!! After spending $15,000 on new cherry cabinets they should furnish. Unless you want your doors to hit get another brand.
TW
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 3
Do not get Themofoil full overlay
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Finish 
 
9.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
We bought a condo where the previous owner renovated the kitchen with KraftMaild kitchen cabinets. All the cabinets are white, with laminate over the wood. It looks nice and clean, but some problems have not appeared. Of the 29 doors in the kitchen, 5 of the overlays have now pealed off the cabinet fronts. Evidently, the glue has dried out, and the overlays have popped off the wood. KraftMaid will not replace the bad doors, because we are not the original owners.

Stay away from these this type of cabinets.
LC
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 3
Square and straight
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Finish 
 
6.0
Durability 
 
6.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
4.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
2.0
I am home builder and also do remodels in central Indiana. I have used Kraftmaid for the last 5 projects this year and I am not at all impressed with the quality I have been seeing. On one project I had a corner cabinet that was out of square by a 1/8'" I had large wall cabinets for the laundry room that the fronts were bowing out by 1/4" and a large 5' door that was warped and the top and the bottom were not able to make contact with the cabinet front. I am currently doing another project using Kraftmaid and we are installing door panels over the 8' oven end panels and refrigerator end panels and we had one door panel out of square by 1/8" and we had other door panels that were all to be the same width but the width measurements were off by 1/8" The reseller told me the 1/8" is the tolerance for doors but when you put four panels together on a large end panel it is very noticeable. I was told this is what to expect with a production cabinet line. My response back was to ask them the car they drive and if that came off a production line. I am done using Kraftmaid.
JB
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 3
Lowe's plus Kraftmaid = Bad Combo
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Warranty 
 
5.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
5.0
Today is October 4, 2017. We ordered our Kraftmaid cabinets from Lowe's on June 26, and we are still without a kitchen. It took four weeks for Kraftmaid to deliver our cabinets. Then it took a week for Lowe's to come and inspect the cabinets, and they found three pieces, which were shipped from Kraftmaid with damage. One piece was not completely stained, one piece had a large dent and another piece had the joints exposed from bad construction. Then it took three weeks for those replacements to arrive. On August 28, Lowe's installers completely botched the installation and ruined some of our cabinets. We had to hire new (competent) installers to completely disassemble the kitchen and reinstall everything. (Which Lowe's paid for, to their credit.) The replacement pieces for the re-install were finally ordered by Lowe's on September 12. The estimated delivery of the remaining parts is October 16. I will NEVER use or recommend Kraftmaid or Lowe's. The fact that Kraftmaid has kept us in a holding pattern for a total of 12 weeks, waiting for parts is just ridiculous and unacceptable. I am hoping the cabinets hold up better than some of the reviewers have experienced.
D
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 2
Kraftmaid Cherry Cabinets
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
10.0
We just had the bathroom of my dreams completed. It is even better than I could have ever expected! It was not bargain priced, but I feel it was fair for the excellent quality that we received. I would highly recommend Kraftmaid cabinets to anyone. I had them put into my last kitchen (about 16 years ago) and they have held up beautifully.
S
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
Poor cabinet box construction, chipped shelves.
Overall rating 
 
5.7
Finish 
 
7.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
1.0
I would not buy Kraftmaid cabinets, nor buy them thru Home Depot either. I purchase six cabinets for use in my dining room three base and three wall, they arrived May 13th. The base cabinets were ok, the three wall were not good..I had two dents on the end, but not on the shipping box, so they were shipped this way. All the shelves were chipped like they were cut with a dull blade, one door had a smear in the finish. The biggest problem the top and the bottom of the boxes were stapled in crooked. I didn't notice this until I started to hang them, I went to Home Depot June 9th and told them, I had guests coming for dinner in a week and needed to install them, the cabinet people told me it was ok because they were damaged, defective and what I ordered was not correct either, I had paid from plywood boxes and didn't get them. They told me to take pictures and send them in, I did on June 9th. On June 22nd I sent another e-mail, still no response, I went by the store the next day and asked, they said they will need to contact the Kraftmaid rep, three weeks later they denied the claim because I installed them. I was lied to by Home Depot they told me it was ok, and two of the three cabinets were already up. This has dragged on until this last week of August, I contacted Customer Care, and they went round and round with the store and the Mfg. The cabinets are made wrong is the issue and Kraftmaid does not want to stand by their work, I bought these thinking I was getting quality cabinets and I didn't,when I put my glasses in the cabinets the bottom is bowed 3/8 of an inch from the middle, and the glasses tilt out 1/4" on each side of the cabinet, this is unacceptable. I planned on doing my entire Kitchen with the same cabinets, I am so happy I found out first hand about the quality of Kraftmaid before I spent 23,000 dollars on my kitchen, these were only 1,500 for the wall and 1,600 for the base cabinets, I'm going to pull the wall cabinets out and throw them in the trash. In the mean time I been speaking with Merillat and they are going to be the ones I use for my next kitchen, they even said they can make me new boxes to replace the crappy Kraftmaid ones. Another' interesting thing though Merillat is owned by Masco which also owns Kraftmaid, but the Merillat seem like better quality. The search does go on though, I'm still looking. If anyone wants me to send them pictures of all the defects I have on these three Kraftmaid cabinets I have, let me know. That way you will have proof about the issues I have had, I can even send you all the e-mails and lack of response from Home Depot early on and how this has dragged out three months. I wouldn't want you to make the same mistake as I have, stay away from Kraftmaid, you will not be happy with them.
J
Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 0
Happy now? So were we. Just wait a few years.
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
New construction, new home. Ordered 4 wetbar/kitchenette /bathroom cabinet bases as well as full kitchen cabinets. 

The doors began taking on a strange streaked appearance at 6-7 years into use. It took me until year 8 to contact them with photos and description. It took them 4 months to send a rep out to inspect them. We were told this streaking was natural and was caused by exposure to the sun, however, the bathrooms have NO exposure to the sun and they are streaked as well. 

What good is a 10-year warranty if they don't stand behind their products. I would never buy their products again nor would I recommend them to anyone else. 

SHAME ON KITCHENMAID
V
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
I love my cabinets
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
10.0
We ordered our cabinets through a big box store and the ordering process was very simple and straightforward. The very next day I received a call from Kraftmaid with our delivery date (It was roughly 3 weeks out), and the customer service rep was very friendly and answered all of my questions. About one week prior to delivery, the delivering carrier called me with a four hour window on the very day that Kraftmaid originally scheduled for us. The driver for the delivering company was clearly very familiar with Kraftmaid's delivery procedures and advised that if there was any damage to the contents that I should call the retailer as soon as possible, and take photos of the damaged items along with the corresponding labels on the boxes. He also gave me a packing list against which we could check the order as we unboxed the cabinets. One door was slightly dented, and one of the cabinets had a door missing so I called the store and within an hour they confirmed that Kraftmaid would be sending replacements directly to my home. I was completely satisfied with the delivery process.

The cabinets themselves were all square, the hardware works flawlessly and the Dove White finish was completely perfect. The 1/2" plywood boxes we ordered appear to be well made and solid and are just beautiful. Install was very simple and all of the required fasteners were included (and then some).

All in all, I'm very satisfied with Kraftmaid.
H
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
Please don't buy!
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
This is so depressing to even write about! The last five months have been total hell for me due to Lowes!  I had already suffered a fire in my kitchen so having a new kitchen put in was not my decision it was one I was forced to have to make!  I went into Lowes on January 3 hoping they would help me get my kitchen back in order!  I worked with XXXXX in kitchens and she ordered the Allen and Roth cabinets that she highly recommended!  So I got the phone call of their delivery date and two days before my contractor tore out my entire kitchen!  So I literally had walls in my kitchen left!  When my contractor opened these boxes one after the other they were so unfinished paint still missing, you could see the lines where they were put together, broken doors,  split cabinets, and the best one of all was the center one that was totally out of square so much that the door front didn't even close! For the since base cabinet they wanted you to build it yourself!  They basically just sent the drawer front!  It was a mess and need I remind you I have 2 children at home and no kitchen sink or appliances!  So what started out as me getting a hotel for a couple of weeks ended up being me getting a hotel for almost 3 months!  I live in Richmond Hill and the closest hotel with a working kitchen was in Savannah which is 30 minutes from me so driving round trip every school day to take my children back and forth one hour round trip for 3 months was no fun either!  Lowes promised to make this right first working with XX and he said over and over again they would make this right!  I ordered a white shaker style cabinet.  They said they would order them now from Kraftmaid since the quality was so poor and badly made this time.  I was fine with that I just wanted them in as soon as possible since I didn't have a kitchen and was having to live in a hotel! These cabinets came in 4 weeks later and I was so excited just to be disappointed again!  All of my drawer fronts where a solid flat white surface! There was one cracked down the inside front and hinges were coming off!  scratch on one!  The pantry was missing a sliding drawer!  No time pieces were sent!  So back to lowes I went this is at this point my 8th visit to the store about my kitchen problems!  Calling this store and trying to get someone on the phone is next to impossible!  The only time I would get anything done is if I went in there and was talking to someone directly!  They said they would order new drawer fronts on all cabinets so that the paint would match! Today is May 21 and I am still missing my kitchen drawer front is still missing along with my pantry, and trash can!  I came in and spoke with XXX which he agreed to adjust my bill by some which is reality he just matched the current ad that they were offering if you ordered Kraftmaid cabinets at that particular time!  So in reality I got nothing cause if I would have walked in and made a new order that particular day I would have gotten the same price!  This was done by manager XXX cause now at this point I was being passed on to someone else cause no one wanted to deal with this!  It was 2 more weeks before I got new drawer fronts and they are coming in pieces!  one or two at a time!  My contractor started opening the boxes and realized they were coming in just the door or drawer front and not predrilled or anything that he had to try and match everything up so very difficult and so he walked off the job after I had already paid him extra to deal with all these mess ups by XXXX and Kraftmaid!  I had to find another contractor willing to finish the job it was very frustrating but how could I blame him he thought he would have this kitchen completed in mid February at the latest not into May and were still dealing with this!  I reached out to XXXX at this point cause I had all of these old drawer and door fronts that he had replaced still at my house and not sure what to do with them he assured me that he would have someone pick them up the following day and guess what no show!  Left messages for him to call me back and never did left message for xxxx no call back!  I can not tell you how long I spend sitting on hold waiting just for them to come back and take a message or put me in a voicemail!  After Thursday I again made a 30 minute drive into Savannah to discuss this with XXXX again to find out why these drawer front had not been picked up like he promised!  I loaded them up in the car with my son and took them back myself!!  When I got there I spoke with XXXX and he had nothing to say!  Asked when I would get my four drawer front that I still have not received and he said they would check on that and call me back now having XXXXX in kitchen take over well guess what two weeks later again and no work from Donna Mark or anyone!!  I feel like Lowes did not give a crap about me or what my family has gone through all because their kitchen expert did not do her job from the start!  Did I mention thatI have MS and the worst thing for me is stress and that I was even hospitalized at one point because of all the stress from this!  I had to hire another contractor costing me $1500 BECAUSE OF THE MISTAKES MADE BY THEM!  The worst experience of my life and I do not recommend Lowes or Kraftmaid for cabinets to anyone! 
L
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 5
Do not buy!!!
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
This company is terrible! They discontinued our stain color while we were re-doing our kitchen, so now I have an unfinished kitchen with no way to get the rest of the trim I need in the right color. I ordered the cabinets through home depot and they placed the order incorrectly, so I returned the wrong pieces and now I have no way to get the right pieces. (this is after HD assured me that I would always be able to get my trim color in perpetuity). Spend your money elsewhere!!
MC
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 3
WISH I'D READ THESE REVIEWS FIRST
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Ordered cabinets in February. Rep had a question about the order and rather than ask the question, blew off the order.A month later, got the cabinets: half damaged in shipping. Promised expedited replacements. Here it is May and still no replacements. Rep took no responsibility,made no attempt to contact us. Can't blame Lowe's, they've done all they can. Just read here that Dove White yellows and can't hold up to heat. Really looking forward to having to deal with them again when our's start falling apart.! Sure wish I'd read these reviews before I blew $18K !
G
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 2
Yup...they're crap!
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Four years ago I had a brand new kitchen installed with dove white painted cabinets from Kraftmaid. These cabinets were NOT cheap and I was excited to get the kitchen of my dreams. The first set came and my contractor installed them. I started putting dishes away and thought they were dirty because the insides of the doors looked almost moldy. I called the place I got them from and they had the Kraftmaid manager come to the house. He agreed that they looked bad and said something about they had instituted new painting techniques that were not working. They sent all new doors.

Fast forward three years and the finish on the cabinets is failing miserably. Two of the doors are yellowing, paint is peeling from others, a few doors have cracks in the finish. Went back to the building supplier where we purchased the cabinets and another Kraftmaid rep came out to look at them. He immediately said the yellowed cabinets were the result of epoxy coming to the surface and it's something they have seen on other cabinets. Obviously a known defect. They are replacing about 3/4 of the doors but the warranty doesn't cover the cost of removing and installing the new doors.

This is ridiculous. These doors have a known defect and I had to pay for the original install and now i have to pay to have them taken out and replaced.
L
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 2
Mrs
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
I have shaker white maple cabinets in Dove white. They are only 15 months old and 2 months ago I looked at the cabinets and at least 15 (upper and lower) cabinet doors have yellowed in various areas and do not come out with cleaning. They are in random areas and not necessarily confined to near the stove. I have never used harsh cleaners on them. In addition I have noticed that they ding easy and require a lot of maintenance. The seams are very visible as well. I am extremely disappointed in the quality. We bought through Lowes and we called them and they contwct d Kraftmaid. A rep didncall us back within a few days of us calling Lowes and verbally stated they would replace the doors if/when we send pics of the cabinets to prove the yellowing. That should be fun since it is hard for it to show up on pictures. I will update my post when we here back from them. Regardless. Having to go through this within a the first 2 years is extremely frustrating
V
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 1
This product is crap
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Finish 
 
4.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
New single sink vanity w/ quartz top and two 48 inch towers installed about six months ago. Product is white maple painted. All the 45s on the doors are separating. pictures were sent to Home Depot about a month ago, haven't heard a word since. This product is not cheap but it isn't much better than contractors grade.Yes I have an exhaust fan in the bathroom!!! be advised, stay away from this company.
L
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
The Krap that is Kraftmaid
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
1.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Purchased a kitchen of Kraftmaid Cabinets, which cost over $13,000 delivered. Cabinet doors were not sized properly. Cabinet doors next to each other could not be opened at the same time since they bumped into each other and one open door prevented a second one from opening without breaking the cabinet box. Cabinet hinges were of the lowest quality in the series, not adjustable, of course, for door sizes that were too large for the openings. There was NO customer service. The first response was that the rep would replace the problematic doors. When he learned that that ALL of the doors were incorrectly sized and that they were swelling and expanding, he renegged and was EXTREMELY rude about not warranting his issue. The only person with whom I was "allowed" communication was a Home Depot rep who was useless. After filing a formal complaint, I was relegated to some automatons in one of the Carolinas who were "partnering with their associates to help". They offered me $200 to repair the cabinets myself. Unbelievable! Now, two years later, the doors are still overlapping, Theyare scraped and crushed at the places in which two doors could not be opened at the same time. There are STILL no people in my location who can repair these doors. And I am stuck with "KRAP!" Do not purchase anything Kraftmaid. Please do not support this company that produces poor quality and does not care about its customers.
D
Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 3
Satisfied Customer
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
10.0
I have Kraftmaid cabinets in my kitchen, bathrooms and office. My kitchen and office cabinets are 7 years old and my bath cabinets are 5 years old. All cabinets are Cherry with solid wood doors and stained finish. I have been very happy with my cabinets from delivery to today. As one reviewer wrote, the doors of her cherry wood cabinets were not stained evenly, that is cherry wood. I love the fact that I have one large door made of 3 pieces of edge glued wood and all 3 pieces have a different grain and shade of stain. Just know this before you buy. I have been very happy with the warranty. When my kitchen cabinets were being installed my contractor hit one of the doors and cracked the wood. It was quickly replaced without question. Last week I called Kraftmaid to get 4 new gas struts for two vertical lift cabinets, those struts arrived in 2 days at no cost to me. I did not have the problems other reviewers have mentioned. I highly recommend Kraftmaid cabinets. In a few years I will be building a new house and I promise you it will have all Kraftmaid cabinets.
P
Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 16 6
Kraftmaid Cabinets
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
3.0
Custom Options 
 
5.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Purchased mid level Kraftmaid white film covered cabinets. Since owning these cabinets the film cover has peeled back on every door, drawer, and divider at least twice now.  Kraftmaid has held to their warranty and replaced them, but, at what point can I stop having to call them and have them replaced?

An insider has told me they have lost millions of dollars on this design / manufacturing flaw. I keep looking for the class action lawsuit. 

I get it, my 15K in cabinets is nothing to them, to me, it is a lot of money. 

Don't waste your time and or money. Just terrible.
H
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 3
Poor quality, poor customer service
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
5.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0
Twelve years old and the finish is peeling off. Three of the cabinets look like they have sat out in the rain for 3 or 4 years. Very disappointing, stay away from these guys.
J
Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 3
View all user reviews