(Updated: February 18, 2016)
Overall rating 

Finish 

Durability 

Warranty 

Custom Options 

Price / Value 

Quality 

I have read several of the reviews regarding the American Woodmark cabinets along with the Home Depot remarks. To qualify my comments, I am a Home Depot Kitchen Designer. I have designed many kitchens for my customers and the cabinet vendor I start with is the American Woodmark line. The reason is they offer more quality and value at a better price point. I know some of you may be thinking, he is biased, he works at Home Depot, he has to say positive things about American Woodmark. Not true, let me give you an example.

When customers come in looking for a faucet and I ask them if it going to be used for everyday use, I tell them to consider any other brand except Glacier Bay and Pegasus, both are our brands. Why, because of the feedback that I have received from other customers. Glacier Bay and Pegasus are great for toilets and vanity tops, but not as much for an every day use faucet.

I would provide my customers the same feedback on cabinets if it were true, but in my professional opinion, American Woodmark offers customers a choice on construction, door style, and finish that is in line with their budget. Ashland is at the low end in a thermofoil and also a painted finish. Savanah is at the high end in a stain or painted finish. I ask my customers what their budget is so I can help them get the kitchen they want and still be within their means.

Some of the complaints were related to quality and construction. All of their cabinets start out as standard construction which means a solid hardwood face frame and door front,for the most part, with furniture board for the sides and shelves. I say for the most part meaning if a thermofoil door was selected then the door front would be an MDF profile with a thermofoil finish. If customers want to upgrade to a ply side or all ply construction, American Woodmark offers that option too.