Kemper

 
9.7
 
5.4 (19)
 
Write Review
Kemper

Company Address

One MasterBrand Cabinets Dr.
P.O. Box 420
Jasper, IN 47547

Warranty

Limited Lifetime

Door Styles Available

  • Shaker
  • Arched
  • Raised Panel
  • Flat Panel

Wood Used

  • Oak
  • Maple
  • Cherry
  • Hickory
  • Alder
  • Rustic Alder

Kemper Distinctive Cabinetry was founded on February 9, 1926 in Richmond, Indiana, a small Midwestern town with a rich heritage of manufacturing. The company initially made wardrobes and chifforobes, but in 1928 the first free-standing kitchen cabinets (known today as “Hoosier cabinets” because of their Indiana origins) were put into production. After World War II the single-family home building boom started; portable kitchen cabinets lost their popularity and in January of 1956 Kemper Bros. was one of the first companies to act on the desire for built-in wood cabinets. Today, Kemper continues to stay at the pulse of industry trends, bringing innovative solutions for the modern homeowner.

Offering distinctive cabinetry at a minimum impact, we keep our process simple, fine-tuning our operations and products to be as efficient as possible. As a certified member of the Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association's (KCMA) Environmental Stewardship Program, Kemper demonstrates an ongoing commitment to sustainability. This includes the use of environmentally responsible materials in cabinet products and reduced environmental impact realized through recycling wastes and using low emission coatings. By achieving this certification, Kemper goes beyond minimum industry requirements and demonstrates leadership in a growing area of concern and importance.

Since 1926, Kemper cabinets have helped to create rooms that are as beautiful as they are functional. From the design of the doors and drawers fronts – to the choice of materials, finishes, hardware, and storage – Kemper provides years of performance and pleasure.

Editor review

Overall rating 
 
9.7
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
9.0

12 step finishing process and Lifetime warranty = Great choice!

Kemper is another Masterbrand company. They manufacture a great selection of door styles and finishes and offer a limited lifetime warranty. Their warranty is one of the best in the industry, so you know your cabinets will be well made. With over 60 door styles to choose from, your most challenging decision with this brand is to buy them, it is what door to choose! They offer a 12 step finishing process that creates a cabinet finish that will please even the most critical cabinet customers. If you are looking for a great cabinet brand, you cant go wrong with Kemper.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

19 reviews

9-10 stars
 
(5)
7-9 stars
 
(1)
5-7 stars
 
(4)
3-5 stars
 
(5)
1-3 stars
 
(4)
Overall rating 
 
5.4
Finish 
 
4.5  (19)
Durability 
 
5.3  (19)
Warranty 
 
5.4  (19)
Custom Options 
 
6.7  (19)
Price / Value 
 
5.8  (19)
Quality 
 
4.4  (19)
Already have an account?
Ratings (the higher the better)
Finish
How is the finish on your cabinets?
Durability
How durable is the cabinet finish?
Warranty
How is their warranty
Custom Options
Did they offer all of the options you wanted?
Price / Value
How was the price and value of the cabinets?
Quality
What is the overall quality of the cabinets?
Comments
You will be able to upload media right after you submit your review.
Overall rating 
 
5.3
Finish 
 
5.0
Durability 
 
5.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
6.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Not Good

We had Kemper Cabinets installed 2 1/2 years ago.  The quality is poor.  The shelf pins are the plastic crap and fit loose in the adjutment holes.  Glue seapage at the back panel to side panels a bubble or two at the cheap veneered photo image wood finish on the back panel.  The shelves I believe are factory cut and were cut with a blade that was starting to go thus rough cuts.
The cabinet doors and sliding drawers do not stack up even and some are not the exact same size.
The drawer glides are super cheap and loose in the tracks therefor two drawers are really wobbly and a few of them are crooked
One door is warped.  Thefinish has small odd blobs in two or three spots.
Overall extremely disapointed and would not recommend at all, stay clear.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
4.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Don't buy from this company!

Six of the cabinet doors came in so warped that we couldn't use them. The door panels shifted and the color stain created tan strips along the edges of the panel. The representative gave me a marker and told me "nobody will notice that." He told me if we "bough a better cabinet we wouldn't have that problem." I asked him to touch up one door. When he was done I caould still see the line along the edge of the panel. The reason is that the grain is also painted on the panels and his marker only make a color line. He said to ask a neighbor to come in to check the cabinets and told me I was emotion and that's why I didn't see the marker was effective.

I am so disappointed with this company. We waited 40 years to get a new kitchen and now I can't even look at it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Worst Purchase made on any home renovation I've done in the past 6 years

I renovate and design houses and turn them into homes for a living.  In the six years I've been renovating, I have never been so unhappy with a product.  The wrong size cabinetry was sent, more then half of the cabinet doors were not painted completely, and seven door fronts and/ or sides were dinged up with deep gouges.  I contacted xxxxxxe, the company I bought the cabinets from and they pretty much told me that even though I had dropped over $10,600 on these Cabinets, I was S.O.L. Also, after many attempts at calling Kemper, they never returned my calls.  Don't be WOW'ed by the accessory options, because you will not get what you paid for nor will you get any customer service

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Amazing Cabinets

We are so happy with our cabinets from Kemper. Its semi customizable so we were able to get the design that I wanted. The storage options are insane! We don't have that big of a kitchen so we were able to get creative with Kemper and now I can get more than double the storage in the same space. The doors are so beautiful, I couldn't be happier. The upgrade to all plywood and full extension drawers wasn't that much and totally worth it. I can't believe how much more room there is when the drawer opens all the way. Soft touch close on the drawers and cabinets came standard and its amazing. I love this kitchen so much!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.7
Finish 
 
9.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
9.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Great cabinets

I have purchased two Kemper kitchens and three other family members have as well. We all found them to be of great quality with endless features. Their lifetime warranty covered a damaged door under my sink. They shipped it directly to my home at no charge with no questions asked. Great service as well!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
4.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
7.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Less Than High Quality With a Lousy Finish

We just finished a new house in October using Kemper Cabinets from Pro Source in Roanoke. I wanted to get Decora, but our builder said he couldn't get them.

I'm not even sure where to start with this. The sample cabinets we were shown at the dealer appeared to be a totally different and higher quality than the cabinets that were installed. What I thought I was buying and what I got are totally different things. The cabinets I have are poorly finished to say the least. The have multiple small cracks in the doors that should never have made it past a quality control person. A simple second coat of finish would have probably fixed this.

The installation was so horrible that I can't begin to tell you all the flaws. The doors are unevenly spaced, crown molding is poorly aligned, and my favorite thing is the spaces between the cabinets themselves that allow the under cabinet lighting to show through. There are unfinished edges everywhere with raw wood showing which only serves to accentuate the poor quality of the cabinets themselves. All in all this was a very poor job and very poor materials used.

My biggest regret is that I didn't just put my foot down and demand the Decora cabinets. After 3 years of hard use in our old house they still looked brand new when we sold it. After 4 months of use here, these Kemper cabinets already look shabby and cheap.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
6.2
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
7.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
6.0
Quality 
 
3.0

consistent problems

i am a contractor,and have installed over 80 kitchens.a few years ago,my cabinet supplier started pushing kemper,saying it was easier to get damaged pcs. replaced.while this is true, there are a lot more problems with them.i have had to go back on every job i used them on.problems include: finish peeling-finish not consistent-out of square-doors not consistent size,the list goes on.
other than these problems,they seem alright for the price. if you are fussy, i would buy something else.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

happy consumer

I have done 3 kitchens in 3 different houses with Kemper cabinets and had nothing but the best quality.
These cabinets are the best for the price paid. Have shopped around and seen other brands. Kemper is far and above other comparable lines.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
10.0
Custom Options 
 
3.0
Price / Value 
 
3.0
Quality 
 
3.0

Poor finish

Got maple cabinets that are stained. The kitchen is only 2 and 1/2 yrs old. Unfortunately, the finish is coming off the cabinets! When I had my cabinet man come out to assess the finish, he stated that I somehow "saturated" the drawer with water! I told him that it is a spice drawer in my island!! No water saturation occurred there! He was nice enough to order me new cabinet drawers for those that were a problem, so the problem is resolved, but these are semi custom cabinets...they were not cheap! They should last and endure water since they are in a kitchen! I was very disappointed that they are damaged in such a short amount of time. The bells and whistles are not that great, I recommend shopping around.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
2.0
Price / Value 
 
1.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Run, Poorly Constructed Cabinets

Stay Away!

Cabinets arrived and they had cracked stiles and rails, dents, and the finish quality was junk, The cabinets are made out of particle board that is cheap and flimsy. There are many other cabinets out there that are cheaper and built better.

Try Choice cabinets.

I worked with a kitchen designer that recommended these, goes to show what they know.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Poor customer service and very poor cabinet finish

Just read some of the reviews on the cabinet finish and would like to comment on just how poor the finish is and how poor the customer service response is from Kemper and the dealer we purchased from. We purchased our cabinets approximatel a year ago from a dealer that we have dealt with before and have had good luck with them. We had shopped around for cabinets and found that Kemper had offered all of the upgrades that we were looking for at very competitive prices. We wanted to have white cabinets and we were assured by our dealer rep that Kemper has very good quality paint finishes on their product. We ordered all wood construction cabinets in maple with all of the bells and whistles. Needless to say, the price tag was substantial, but we felt this was worth it with all of the assurances we received.

We ordered the cabinets and received them in April 2013. When we received them, we checked all of them out to be sure they were what we ordered and in good condition. There were several of the doors that had poor paint jobs on them. Several you could see the wood grain through the paint, some had bubbles and blistering in the paint, there we several with black specks on the surfaces, and most of the doors had paint missing at every corner. The worst was a 4" crack on the inside of the front panel of one of the drawers. We called the dealer and the rep came and looked at them and conceded that we needed to have them replaced. A couple of months later, we received about 1/4 of the number of items needed and all of them were defective. We refused them and contacted the dealer again. At this point in time, we had not installed the cabinets yet because we were still in the construction phase. In August, we installed the cabinets and had still not received the new doors. We contacted the dealer again and the owner of the dealership came to our house to check them out. He agreed that we needed 21 doors and a complete cabinet and wrote everything down. He contacted Kemper and they agreed to replace these items. Long story short, when the new doors came in (there were 21 items on list), only 9 were able to be used and after installation, 6 of these were found to be defective.

Kemper was contacted by me in November and one of their reps called and came to my place to check out the items. He agreed that they had "fallen down" on the quality of the paint and agreed to have them replaced. I had not heard from him by Christmas, so I contacted him and he stated the the factory was shut down for the holidays and he had asked to have the items donw after the new year so he could oversee the process and make sure all items were done in the same timeframe. At the end of January, we were contacted by the dealer that the items were in and we set up an appointment to have them installed. On the day of the installation, I called the dealer to be sure they were coming and they confirmed. I proceeded to remove the handles from the cabinets,but received a call shortly afterward that the dealer had not received all of the pieces and Kemper had told them not to install any of the items until all of them had been received.

I was very upset over this because we are now 10 months into this and this is the 5th attempt to get this resolved. I called the rep from Kemper and still have not heard back from him. I sent a communication to Kemper and received an e-mail back that they had asked the rep to contact me and that they were turning this matter over to their Consumer Affairs department in hopes that the problem could be resolved. We still have not heard back from Kemper as to the next step. This is very poor customer service and as I stated in my communications to them, I feel that I was just another sale to them and that once the sale was done, I was forgotten about and they did not care what happens as long as they had my money.

If I had my option, I would pull all of the cabinets off the wall and send them back. Very discouraged and disappointed at this time. Will not recommend Kemper or consider ordering from them again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Finish 
 
2.0
Durability 
 
2.0
Warranty 
 
2.0
Custom Options 
 
6.0
Price / Value 
 
4.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Don't buy Kemper!

I am so deeply regretful that we purchased Kemper cabinetry when we redid our kitchen 2 yrs ago! Bought from what is deemed to be a reliable dealer within our area, and there was even a 10% discount at the time. Felt that we were making an investment since they were exactly inexpensive (in par with price for discounted Kraftmaid at a solely-Kraftmaid dealer). Cabinets started giving me regrets within four months of installation. The white finished cabinets (on both sides of fridge, the long expanse where stove/sink/dishwasher sit, and the cabinets above) started to stain! An incredibly difficult to remove stain (that if I did not know better, I would say was from red ink which I do not use). So I called the dealer, who came out and ordered a replacement front for the garbage/recycling pull out. Also noted that there were faint bluish streaks on other door fronts. And to add insult to injury, just about 3 months after that, a yellowish stain became apparent wherever the little rubber "bump" dots had been attached to each door/drawer. Yes, a round yellow discoloration that evidently was being caused by the dots that the company had supplied for installation! To make a long story short, a rather insulting company rep came to the house to "..check out the situation that was being described..." He reminded me of inspector Gadget from the children's cartoon of that name, b/c he proceeded to examine really close-up each of the areas that I pointed out. And he stated very pointedly that the problem was being caused by heat from the stove, dishwasher, and refrigerator --- really??!--they are in a kitchen, MADE for a kitchen!! But I kept my cool, and pointed out that not ALL of the dots had corresponding stains on the areas of contact...."Well, the heat is what is causing the problem," he insisted....even in areas at a distance from the stove, fridge, and dishwasher!
He finally stated that he was going to send a cabinet repairman, who would make each area of concern disappear. He pointedly stated that I needed to make sure that ALL were done because the company paid $1000 to have this specialist come to a customer's residence.
So I used post it strips on each of the problem areas, and the specialist proceeded to use his special tools which included sanding and then applying via spray gun a mist of paint to match my white cabinets. I was upset because I had not been informed that this was going to involve such chemicals, and our two young grandsons were in my care that day (and they both have asthma). I had to open windows and have the boys go upstairs and close the door. The specialist appeared alarmed that I was so upset. He went out of his way to make sure that he had "repaired" each of the areas to my satisfaction. I have to say that he did an incredible job, with the cabinets looking like new again.
But then 5 months ago (today being 9-25-13), as I was wiping off the countertop and fronts of the doors below the sink, I opened the right side door and noticed what looked like a "flake". Imagine my distaste when I wiped it and the flake was a small piece of the finish! Yes, there was now a bare spot where paint finish had been...and I was really angry. To calm myself down, I took the small bar of a putty substance that had come with the cabinets, and molded a thin layer where the finish had flaked off....and figured that I should just move on --- yes, we had made a very poor choice for our kitchen cabinets, but I just could not allow myself to get so worked up.
Except that today I had the guy who had sold us the cabinets come to our house . I told him that we were considering cabinets for the laundry/panty, and a vanity base for the powder room. Well.....I showed him the messed up spot that I had covered with the putty...and asked what was up with a cabinet finish be so sensitive to WATER, when it is being sold as KITCHEN cabinetry --- of course there would be water in the area, and the finish should not be so susceptible to liquid. READY FOR THIS? -- I was told "....it happens..." OMG, I had to take a deep breath and replied "That is just not a good response...."
Needless to say, we are not going to use Kemper elsewhere in our house. And I DO NOT recommend this company at all, especially if all a sales rep/designer can say is that "....it happens...." I expected a replacement, at least, for the thousands of dollars that we paid and for the handsome commission that this guy had received from our purchase.

I am going to contact Kemper, and we'll see where that leads, if at all.
I wish we had done an Ikea kitchen instead!
Save yourself the money, the aggravation, and the frustration --- don't buy Kemper cabinetry...

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
10.0
Warranty 
 
7.0
Custom Options 
 
10.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

over all quality

we had our kemper cabinets installed 8 months ago, so far we have been very satisfied over all with every component. The finish is beautiful, it covers well and cleans easily.WE have 5 sons they slam the doors sit in the counters everything you don't want to happen.We havent had a singel issue.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
1.0
Warranty 
 
1.0
Custom Options 
 
4.0
Price / Value 
 
6.0
Quality 
 
1.0

Poor finish

We bought this house 4 years ago, in the time we've had the house the finish has been peeling off the Kemper cabinets. This issue includes both upper and lower cabinets. We've contacted the local dealer and they seem to be unable to get any response from Kemper on resolving this issue. We are very disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Finish 
 
3.0
Durability 
 
3.0
Warranty 
 
3.0
Custom Options 
 
4.0
Price / Value 
 
6.0
Quality 
 
3.0

Kemper Cabinets Quality

Had white cabinets installed 6 years ago. Paint finish is begining to peel off on door edges.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Finish 
 
1.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
5.0
Quality 
 
2.0

Poor finish on my Kemper Kitchen Cabinets

I just had my maple chocolate Kemper cabinets installed in my kitchen. The finish on them is poor. There are multiple areas on each cabinet door where the finish is barely there. Kemper did replace a few of the doors, but they're the same poor finish. Had I known the consistency would be so poor, I wouldn't have chosen this brand of cabinets. My husband and I are quite disappointed and now we'll just have to live with what we have.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Finish 
 
10.0
Durability 
 
9.0
Warranty 
 
9.0
Custom Options 
 
9.0
Price / Value 
 
10.0
Quality 
 
10.0

Best Value for Money

Kemper are the best value for money. Equivalent features in highly rated cabinet lines are double or more than the price for Kemper. You may find a cabinet line that is as good looking and as well built or better built and with more custome features - but you pay dearly for the privilege.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
8.0
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
8.0
Warranty 
 
8.0
Custom Options 
 
8.0
Price / Value 
 
8.0
Quality 
 
8.0

half shelves

Just wanted to comment on the first review regarding half shelves in lower cabinets. That is a common practice with most cabinet makers. Believe its to accomandate taller items on the base shelf.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.7
Finish 
 
8.0
Durability 
 
6.0
Warranty 
 
6.0
Custom Options 
 
4.0
Price / Value 
 
6.0
Quality 
 
4.0

Shelves NOT full depth in lower cabinets

We just installed new Kemper Cabinets. They look beautiful but.... the lower cabinet shelves are not full depth! The uppers are full depth, the wall oven cabinet, the over the fridge cabinet all have full depth shelves. What the heck? I am really disappointed, I would not have ordered this brand had I known.

Was this review helpful to you? 

 

Featured Brands

Fieldstone Cabinetry
 
9.3
Dania Cannon
"Beautiful finish and colors. The Fieldstone cabinets that were installed..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
9.7
Guest
"We looked at a lot of cabinet lines and we..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
10.0
Kris
"We just completed our kitchen remodel (2015) and the cabinets..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
10.0
Debbie Fuller
"We purchased our StarMark cabinets a number of years ago,..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
10.0
Rodgerc
"I checked this website for reviews on Kitchen Cabinets and..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
10.0
Edward Mugits
"I have been involved in 4 back to back sales..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
10.0
J. Logue
"We just completed building our brand new home. We..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
10.0
Kathy Schmidt
"We are remodeling our 1960 ranch home and have purchased..."
StarMark Cabinetry
 
9.8
Ray Horn
"We purchased Starmark cabinetry when we remodeled our kitchen (project..."
Fieldstone Cabinetry
 
9.5
FMC
"We remodeled our kitchen and wanted quality cabinets that were..."

Starmark Cabinetry      Fieldstone Cabinetry


Cabinet Reviews:  Kraftmaid Cabinets | Mid Continent Cabinetry | Thomasville | Marsh Furniture  | Welborn |


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy |Sitemap

.........................................................

Kitchen Cabinets on KitchenCabinetsReviews.com

Welcome to KitchenCabinetsReviews.com! You have discovered the best site online for Kitchen Cabinet Reviews. We have 
all of the major brands listed - Kraftmaid, Mid Continent Cabinetry, Marsh, Cardell, Quality, Merillat, Welborn, High Point
Cabinetry, Decora, Thomasville, Medallion, Omega, Diamond and more. The cabinets listed are all major brands and all
manufacture nice cabinets. Feel free to browse the site and checkout all of the reviews left by consumers and we hope
that our site helps to make your cabinet buying decision easier.


Copyright
© 2016, Kitchen Cabinets Reviews, All Rights reserved


Follow Us on Twitter