Follow Us on Twitter

Latest Reviews



Kemper
User rating
 
10.0
Reviewed by Duff Nash
"I have done 3 kitchens in 3 different houses with Kemper cabinets and had nothing but the best qu..."


Aristokraft
User rating
 
9.0
Reviewed by Dan
"I have 26 year old aristokraft cabinets in my kitchen and have never had a problem with them. Th..."


Kraftmaid
User rating
 
4.7
Reviewed by Glen
"We were very disappointed in these cabinets, purchased for a powder room remodel. While they app..."


StarMark Cabinetry
User rating
 
10.0
Reviewed by M. Headington
" We did a kitchen remodel project during the summer of 2014. We have a modest house and did not ..."


American Woodmark
User rating
 
9.2
Reviewed by Ron
"I had no problems with the initial installation or the quality (done by homeowner) 14 years ago a..."
< >

American Woodmark Hot

 
American Woodmark
Editor rating
 
0.0 User rating
 
5.6 (16)

American Woodmark

User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 16 user(s)

Overall rating: 
 
5.6
Finish:
 
5.6   (16)
Durability:
 
5.1   (16)
Warranty:
 
6.3   (16)
Custom Options:
 
6.3   (16)
Price / Value:
 
5.9   (16)
Quality:
 
4.6   (16)
 
Ratings (the higher the better)
Finish*
 
Durability*
 
Warranty*
 
Custom Options*
 
Price / Value*
 
Quality*
 
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 

customer service

Overall rating: 
 
9.2
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
9.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
9.0
Price / Value:
 
9.0
Quality:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 18, 2014
Comments (0)
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I had no problems with the initial installation or the quality (done by homeowner) 14 years ago and had several doors replaced at the time no charge because we didn't like the look of a knot or something that some people like. Now after 14 years they are sending a replacement door front that got scratched through no fault of theirs and sending it no charge. I say fantastic customer service and how great that they are still in business and making the same products unlike so very many businesses.
I had one hinge break a year ago again thru no fault of American Woodmark and was able to get a replacement part since these were high quality and the maker is still around.
They have held up very well and would not hesitate to buy again.
As far as working with Home Depot I guess we were lucky to have gotten a good planner who gave good advice. I went to many other places before we bought that were poor to very poor, so learn a bit as you go and pay attention to the layout that is being suggested.

 

Worse remodel with Home Depot and Woodmark - stay away

Overall rating: 
 
3.2
Finish:
 
2.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
3.0
Custom Options:
 
6.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 08, 2014
Comments (0)
 
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

A three week kitchen remodel turned into 2 months. I am STILL dealing with issues. Home Depot made mistake after mistake. First they shipped the wrong color cabinets for my dining room which took 3 weeks to fix. They then shipped wrong cabinets, damaged doors and smaller cabinets than could be used. An entire remeasure of my kitchen then had to be done to show they gave me less room than I had before. New cabinets, new doors, new hinges, the problems with the Woodmark cabinets keep coming. Home Depot finally sent out the Woodmark rep who continued to tell me over and over again this is normal for your cabinets to come apart at the seems, its because of the light color. They are shipping me some new doors, I am sure we will continue to have problem. STAY AWAY FROM HOME DEPOT AND WOODMARK - both stink!

 

Cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
1.3
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
2.0
Custom Options:
 
2.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 05, 2014
Comments (0)
 
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful

If you are going to buy cabinets, DO NOT BUY THESE!! We spent 10,000. on these cabinets and have had them for 3 months. The hinges are all coming loose and the screws are stripped. The finish can be damaged by just hitting it lightly. We are still waiting for new doors for the ones that came in damaged. You are better off to pay more and get something that is good. These are the worst things I have ever purchased. Worthless!!!!!

 

Painful remodel with Woodmark

Overall rating: 
 
4.3
Finish:
 
3.0
Durability:
 
4.0
Warranty:
 
9.0
Custom Options:
 
5.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 06, 2014
Comments (0)
 
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Ordered 23 cabinets + moldings in December through Home Depot, now June and still getting replacement parts. Woodmark has easily added two months delay to a major kitchen remodel project, and cost me tens of hours dealing with issues & returns, photographs and emails.

Overall, the manufacturing quality is good (not great). A few items received with defects from manufacturing process, in once case a poor job of filler in a crack of the face of a door panel (should have never left the floor), but considering the number of items received, less than 5% of total. Consistency is another thing...cabinets frequently don't match each other or molding in finish or stain color (hue).

Where they really fall short, seriously short, is packing, which is part of their quality, thus the single star rating and reduced rating for durability. They use minimal packing, resulting in a substantial number of items received damaged. I've had to have several pieces replaced more than once, three time in some cases, because the items were damaged in transit. Remember, three weeks for each replacement, so over two months now to get some drawers replaced (and still waiting for some missing rail kits).

The company is good about replacing defective parts, just takes several tries to get ones that actually arrive undamaged, and hopefully with a fairly close hue and finish. Overall manufacturing quality is better than the low-priced Swedish retailer thats popular with college kids, but below the what the name of the company implies, American Woodmark. (My contractor writes "made in China" on all the damaged parts, which is quite a pile now.)

Home Depot has been good about getting replacements, although there have been some frustrations dealing with them, sort of the normal stuff you put up with when working with Home Depot. That does not impact any of the ratings here.

Recommend? No. If you're on a tight budget, find a way to stretch it or finance to go with something a bit better. If it's already a stretch, then be prepared for significant delays and time investment to resolve issues; my prayers are with you!

 

owne/builder

Overall rating: 
 
10.0
Finish:
 
10.0
Durability:
 
10.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
10.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
May 19, 2014
Comments (0)
 
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

These are great cabinets. We ordered the Newport in the all plywood upgrade with a natural finish in maple. The cabinets are beautiful. Had a slight problem with one slide that broke, and it was promptly fixed. I read a lot of reviews that sound like the main problems some people have are either ordering the cheapest cabinets available or dealing with an inexperienced Home Depot employee. We upgraded to plywood, and the cabinets are very sturdy. We also had an experienced cabinet man who "retired" to work at Home Depot and was extremely helpful in getting our order correct. We purchased our cabinets through the Olympia Home Depot.

 

Disappointing

Overall rating: 
 
6.7
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
6.0
Price / Value:
 
8.0
Quality:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
April 18, 2014
Comments (0)
 
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

I purchased 15 American Woodmark cabinets from Home Depot in 2007; the wood was maple and stain natural. The finish is even on all the faces, and while there are some darker marks on the wood, I think they are to be expected with a natural wood product. I purchased crown molding and leaded glass inserts as upgrades.

One cabinet base arrived with the frame completely cracked; doors on two other cabinets were not square. We had to reorder these pieces, delaying our construction by about 3 weeks.

The drawer hardware takes up too much space, leaving the drawers much narrower than I'd like. I built an island with two base cabinets; I wish I had used just one wide cabinet with one wide drawer on top. The two small drawers on the two cabinets are simply not wide enough for me.

My 30" sink base does not have a center support piece on the front of the frame; instead, one of the doors has a piece of 1/4" wood extending out to cover the space between the two doors. It looks cheap and means you have to close one door before the other.

By far, the worst problem has been the hinges. On the two most commonly used doors, the hinges have broken several times and constantly need tightening and adjustment. Each time I call, the company quickly sends a replacement hinge, but because this is a vacation rental property, I really can't tolerate broken doors. I see that the hinge model I purchased is now discontinued; I hope the newer ones are sturdier.

I cannot recommend this cabinetry. Quality control is terrible, delaying construction. My kitchen looks great, but it requires too much maintenance.

 

American Woomark not what you want.

Overall rating: 
 
2.3
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
3.0
Custom Options:
 
3.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
3.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 30, 2013
Comments (1)
 
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

Went to Lowes to start a remodel project of the downstairs. Floors, kitchen cabinets, countertop, paint, and lighting. This all started in February 2013 now here at the end of June the floors are finished, paint is finished, even the lighting is done. The American Woodmark cabinets,, still waiting to get things right. We ordered Cherry cabinets with a chocolate glaze, but when the cabinets were hung, the doors, or most have blemishes, cracks, smudges in the glaze, and dark spots. Even noticed saw chatter marks. Reordered the cabinet doors and when the new ones showed up they were as bad as the first.
We had a company rep come to our house trying to tell us the glaze is hand wiped, which looking at the finish did not happen, and also saying that since this is natural wood some blemishes can be expected. We said to send new doors and be sure they are right. Now after three weeks still waiting. Also we had a custom cabinet installed for the pantry. 84"X36"X21" deep built in with 4 slide out drawers. The first drawers were 6" too short so reordering we got 21" deep drawers. This has been going on for 3 months and still do not have the job finished. The price may be right but the quality of the finished product is unacceptable to say the least. I can not understand how a company with this poor quality of workmanship and poor service is still in business. I would never recommend American Woodmark cabinets to anyone, no matter the price.

 

American woodmark

Overall rating: 
 
8.5
Finish:
 
7.0
Durability:
 
8.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
8.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 05, 2013
Comments (0)
 
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful

I have installed over 35 kitchens with American Woodmark cabinets. I have also installed other lines of cabinets ( Shrock, Kraftmaid, etc), I keep seeing the same issues with all of them, including the upper line of cabinets, warped doors, color variations in the wood, cabinet assembly not square, warped styles. As far as what you get and pay for, these issues never stop. I have never had an issue with American Woodmarks construction of the cabinet. I personally have them, and they are going on 10 years and still strong. I see alot of consumers blaming the cabinet industry for there wrong doing, and not want to pay out of pocket for what they broke. I see some ratings here are more like a home depot complaint rather than the cabinet themselves. I will stand behind American Woodmark as an independent installer who has no ties to this industry. They are the same quality you are getting in all cabinets purchased in store chains or private owned businesses. Face it, we are using wood species today from trees that are grown super fast, not like ages ago when a tree was naturally grown, so when you go to order cabinets, the same tree is being milled to make them. The difference between Kraftmaid and American Woodmark is the custom end of a special size cabinet. I have seen no difference in the quality of both, but yet Kraftmaid has high ratings, y?

 

Love my Del Ray Cognac cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
9.0
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
9.0
Warranty:
 
9.0
Custom Options:
 
9.0
Price / Value:
 
9.0
Quality:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 12, 2012
Comments (0)
 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Had to wait about 2 months to get my American Woodmark Del Ray Cognac Kitchen cabinets. I did all the contracting for the kitchen even though Home Depot did give me a price- I decided to wing it for fun. Got a good finish capenter to do the install- did not have any problems with the cabinets, received all ordered items except one missing handle which was mailed to me soon thereafter after I mentioned it to Home Depot person that placed the order. I got Italian granite countertops and stainless steel GE Profile appliances to go with cabinets. The floor was tiled with "Graphito" slate tile from Spain. I get non-stop compliments on my kitchen and now am seriously considering using American Woodmark for my basement kitchen cabinets. I got the upgraded cabinets with plywood.

 

American Woodmark cabinet.. you get what you pay for

Overall rating: 
 
3.7
Finish:
 
4.0
Durability:
 
4.0
Warranty:
 
4.0
Custom Options:
 
4.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
2.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 08, 2012
Comments (1)
 
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

We purchased our cabinets at Home Depot and thought we were getting a great deal. The cabinets order was messed up by Home Depot, tooked over 2 months to get the order right and shipped. One cabinet was cracked, several items that I paid for were not ordered and had to be delivered later, after my builder was done installing the cabinets. The associates at Home Depot were not helpful and have no idea of what they are doing. I would not recommend Home Depot or American Woodmark to anyone.

 

AWFUL

Overall rating: 
 
1.7
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
5.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
February 29, 2012
Comments (0)
 
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Redoing kitchen with American wood mark cabinets after being persuaded by home depot rep of the excellent quality. I am now going on my 5th delivery of scratched, broken, unfinished, uneven staining. I have been without a kitchen for over a month. Wood mark rep came to my home and made lots of promises....even told me my zebra striped cabinet was acceptable! No, it's not! Now I have to wait another 2 weeks for replacement cabinets. I would prefer to have them ripped out, get a refund, and go to a more reliable manufacturer. A lot of money spent for a tiny little kitchen and because of the poor quality of cabinets and the inability of the contractor to get the replacement orders right, my 48 hour job is now going on to 6 weeks. Buy another brand and go to a different installer.

Can't really rate the cabinets except the first and last question.......haven't been able to use my kitchen yet.

 

American Woodmark.... A review after ownership for a few years.....

Overall rating: 
 
5.8
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
5.0
Custom Options:
 
6.0
Price / Value:
 
9.0
Quality:
 
3.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
February 26, 2012
Comments (0)
 
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful


American Woodmark "Somerset" come apart at the seams

American Woodmark cabinets come apart at the seams.
I bought my cabinets in 1998, 18 of them, from Home Depot. They look nice, were priced right at the time. Home Depot had to replace doors, sink base, because the wood had a lot of dark blemishes/spots, darker wood grain on them. I felt that I bought the cabinets on how they looked in the store display and in the book, but mine didn't look like that when I received them. That was fine since they sent new parts. We did the work ourselves with no problems. The thing is that after 10 years, I had a single cabinet almost fall off the wall because the "glued" seams just popped loose. Took it down and glued it completely to repair it since there was no remaiming warranty on them, and it's been fine. But now (14 years later),I have to take down 3 wall cabinets that are put together as an upright unit ( to hide a chimney) because the whole front has pulled away from the shelves, and the back seams had come loose as well. Other ones will need repair also. It's a big inconvenience. BUT they still look nice to look at them. If there's ever another time that I need cabinets, I'll look at a different manufacturer.

 

Buy anything other than American Woodmark

Overall rating: 
 
2.2
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
December 29, 2011
Comments (0)
 
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Absolutely the worst! We own some investment properties and we have been involved in designing and purchasing well over 40 kitchens but had not used American Woodmark in over 7 or 8 years as their competitors always had the better deal and look for what we wanted to accomplish. We do higher end projects. Why we decided on American Woodmark for our personal home in Florida I will never know! The cabinet quality is the worst EVER! The color is completely off, it is suppose to be espresso, however, it looks like Cherry Java. The doors have spots and lots of blotches, the tops of some of the doors are completely differnt than the bottom half - same door and these blemishes are very noticable with and without the lights on in the kitchen. The cabinets arrived full of scratches, especially the doors and strangely it was on the insides as well as the outsides which was very weird. A couple of the doors do not have finish on the outsides at all. The doors are a completely different color than the inside fronts of the cabinets - which is also rough and it should be smooth. There are blobs of glue all over the insides of the cabinets - just really bad. Trying to get a rep out to look at the issues was another hassle, over two weeks and then they talk to you like you are stupid instead of taking credit for their bad craftsmanship/quality and to add insult to injury they said I was in the wrong because my contractor installed them and even though I was out of the country I was suppose to instruct them to QC them before they put them in! WTH? Come on American Woodmark, your company motto is CITE, are those just empty words or do they really mean something? Company up and take responsiblity for your poor craftsmanship! Save yourself the stress and sadness, go with another company, just as I wish I would have.

 

best deal I ever made

Overall rating: 
 
9.8
Finish:
 
10.0
Durability:
 
10.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
9.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 17, 2011
Comments (0)
 
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

After a poor experience at their competitors {wrong lay out out of codes} , I settled at Home Depot Oakland 1007 , they were running special gave fresh measure a day later the purchase was made , all plywood and all the options , delivery was fabulous , upon inspecting each box could not even find a scuff mark , I really wanted too . very well packaged . they offer lifetime warranty,I could not have donme it at a better time the best value. Only problem and there is one I ordered the wrong glass for the doors ,my wife has yet to forgive me ......

 

Extremely happy with the cabinets and the service

Overall rating: 
 
9.7
Finish:
 
10.0
Durability:
 
10.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 16, 2011
Comments (0)
 
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful

I looked through many reviews on this site prior to purchasing cabinets and noted that the majority of them were from disgruntled buyers who had negative experiences. Given my experience, I felt I had to weigh in on the positive side.

I purchased my cabinets (20 of them) through Home Depot and got a great deal on them. They were installed by a private contractor. I have nothing but good things to say. The finish (including parts of the cabinets you don't see) and fit are uniformly perfect and all of the features function flawlessly. Home Depot didn't order a few things (shelves and pullout trays) for a couple of the cabinets. When we ordered these after the fact, they were processed and delivered quickly. When we discovered a few missing plastic parts, American Woodmark cheerfully sent them out at no charge.

I paid up for full plywood construction, which I think is worth it. The only thing I can't comment on is the durability because we've only just completed the kitchen. Overall, I've had an excellent experience and am happy to recommend them.

 
 
View all user reviews
 

Cabinet Reviews:  Kraftmaid Cabinets | Mid Continent Cabinetry | Thomasville | Marsh Furniture  | Welborn |


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy |Sitemap

...........................................................................................................................................................................................

Kitchen Cabinets on KitchenCabinetsReviews.com

Welcome to KitchenCabinetsReviews.com! You have discovered the best site online for Kitchen Cabinet Reviews. We have 
all of the major brands listed - Kraftmaid, Mid Continent Cabinetry, Marsh, Cardell, Quality, Merillat, Welborn, High Point
Cabinetry, Decora, Thomasville, Medallion, Omega, Diamond and more. The cabinets listed are all major brands and all
manufacture nice cabinets. Feel free to browse the site and checkout all of the reviews left by consumers and we hope
that our site helps to make your cabinet buying decision easier.


Copyright
© 2013, Kitchen Cabinets Reviews, All Rights reserved