Follow Us on Twitter

Featured Brands



StarMark Cabinetry
User rating
 
10.0
Reviewed by Kris
"We just completed our kitchen remodel (2015) and the cabinets from Starmark are beautiful. We wo..."


StarMark Cabinetry
User rating
 
9.8
Reviewed by Mike Lewis
"Shapes Supply provided Starmark cabinetry for our kitchen remodeling project, including onsite de..."
< >

Starmark Cabinetry      Fieldstone Cabinetry


American Woodmark

 
American Woodmark
Editor rating
 
0.0 User rating
 
5.3 (23)

American Woodmark

User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 23 user(s)

Overall rating: 
 
5.3
Finish:
 
5.3   (23)
Durability:
 
4.9   (23)
Warranty:
 
5.7   (23)
Custom Options:
 
5.7   (23)
Price / Value:
 
5.6   (23)
Quality:
 
4.6   (23)
 
Ratings (the higher the better)
Finish*
 
Durability*
 
Warranty*
 
Custom Options*
 
Price / Value*
 
Quality*
 
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 

Feeling stupid for having bought these American Woodmark cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
1.7
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
3.0
Custom Options:
 
3.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
January 12, 2016
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

1/3 cabinets arrived and were broken. You can tell by the plastic corner and lots of glue that they are not built strong. Most doors were unleveled and to this day we still cant level them out, screws are stripped now. A few of them are falling apart after 2 years of usage.
We got the white ones and now you can see the seam line in all doors require us to touch up. They sent a touch up kit but that is like a lipstick on a pig.
I have XXX kitchen in one of my rentals and it looks great after 5 years.

I want my 8k back. IT WAS A WASTE of money. I will NEVER buy another kitchen at XXXX.

 

Very poor shipping and Customer Service

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
December 16, 2015
 
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful

Very poor quality and customer service. Nothing else to be said.

 

poor quality cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 10, 2015
 
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful

We bought American Woodmark kitchen cabinets through XXXXXX about 6 years ago, so we've had them installed for some time. First off, we ordered plywood cabinets, but one of the cabinets was not plywood. The problem with that is when the installers are putting in the cabinets, you don't have time to wait another 4 - 6 weeks for a replacement. XXXXX ended up refunding the difference. After the installation, we noticed that one of the upper cabinets was also a different style... the european style which doesn't have a front. Luckily, it wasn't that noticeable, but strike two. Finally, after a few months, we started to notice that the pantry cabinet shelves were starting to fall off the shelf supports. I replaced the plastic shelf supports with heavy duty steel supports, but the problem persisted. Upon closer inspection, we found that the cabinet sides were bowing outward. We had a finish carpenter try to shore up the cabinets, but that was difficult without completely removing the cabinet from the wall. He showed me that even though the cabinets were plywood, they were only 1/2" instead of usual 3/4" you would expect for pantry cabinet that would hold canned goods. Even our bathroom cabinets are 3/4". Noticing further problems with the upper cabinets, we are now in the process of ripping out these garbage cabinets and replacing them with a much better brand. Do yourself a favor, DO NOT BUY WOODMARK.. they are cheaply made junk. I wouldn't even consider putting these cabinets in my garage now.

 

Nice cabinets overall - kitchen

Overall rating: 
 
9.5
Finish:
 
10.0
Durability:
 
9.0
Warranty:
 
9.0
Custom Options:
 
10.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
October 23, 2015
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful

I purchased about 20k worth of cabinets for a kitchen remodel from XXXX. Actually the kitchen designer was nice and friendly there, but maybe not that experienced with kitchen design. With the XX design, I ended up going to another private kitchen designer who improved on the design, but whose cabinets were a bit on the expensive side (compared to XX, and similar quality rating), so I ended up going back to XXXX with the revised design. The XX designer also spent time with me as I made decisions regarding which trims and options to pick, as well as to take advantage of the promotions XXXX has. I ended up going with the Savannah style in the painted hazelnut glaze, with oil-rubbed bronze pulls, all-plywood with dovetail construction.

When I received the cabinets, they were all packaged quite well (as in a lot of padding where needed), and I did not have any problems with any of the pieces when received. No damage, no missing pieces, and they were all in pretty good quality. A couple of the cabinets were slightly off in the joint, but nothing that wasn't fixable. I also had very experienced contractors to install them, which is extremely important when buying cabinets. In the end we ended up with a beautiful kitchen, and the finish of the cabinets was really nice. I can't vouch for the durability as it's only been about a month since the install was complete. So far so good though.

It's very easy to blame the cabinet company for everything that goes wrong, but not always fair. I have some tips:
1. Don't depend on XXXXX to know exactly what you want, and verify everything before you buy. Make sure the trims, colors, etc.. match what you asked for. And also verify the measurements that were made of your kitchen - if it matters that they are an inch off then you should verify it yourself.
2. Do some reach about kitchen design and flows and try to make sure that other aspects of kitchen - e.g. where the appliances / sink are match your kitchen usage patterns.
3. Take advantage of promotions - if you are on the edge of a discount bracket, e.g. 19k, then it makes sense to order more options to reach the next bracket (i.e. 19k worth of cabinets gives you $2000 discount, but 20k worth gives you a $3000 discount). Also, at the time I ordered AW also had free plywood construction (or premium glaze) and another 10% promotion.
4. Very important!! Make sure you have reputable / experienced contractors to install the cabinets. They should know how to adjust and make your cabinets look perfect, and can mean the difference between feeling completely satisfied and feeling frustrated.

 

Misleading Farm Sink Cabinet Design *BEWARE*

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 08, 2015
 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

If you plan/design to install a Apron Farm Sink using American Woodmark be aware of the misleading information they provide. I just bought all new cabinets for our kitchen and my wife wanted to install a apron farm sink. The designer and American Woodmark said they have a cabinet specifically for that kind of sink and fits "MOST" sinks. What they don't tell you is "MOST" farm sinks are 10 inches deep and there cabinet DOES NOT allow for that depth. We are now very limited since we need to find a shallow farm sink, I would say 99% of the sinks we have looked at will not work.

If I would of know this misleading information provided by American Woodmark I would of went with at different cabinet maker. When I called customer service they put it on the designer(Home Depot) for not informing us that a standard sink will not fit in a cabinet advertised as a farm sink cabinet. The customer service rep at Amercican Woodmark has heard this before I am guessing because she said it's not there job to define "MOST" and asked what else I wanted, it was obvious no advise or help would be available.

Thanks American Woodmark, you have made my remodel a great experience!! (American Woodmark - this is a joke by the way, don't try and mislead others and post my quote on your website as you do with other things)

 

Bathroom vanities

Overall rating: 
 
8.2
Finish:
 
7.0
Durability:
 
8.0
Warranty:
 
8.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
8.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
April 29, 2015
 
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

We purchased American Woodmark cabinets for our bathroom vanities through Home Depot while a promotion was running for free all plywood construction and free stain. The value was outstanding compared to our Schuler kitchen cabinets. The finish and quality are no comparison to the more expensive Schuler cabinets so I am glad we did not put these in our kitchen. The construction seems fine. Our problem arose upon installation when we realized the center panel in the back of all the vanities were not included and should have been. This results in another delay while American Woodmark sends out a sheet of skin. Now our cabinet installer will need to make the cuts to fit these stock cabinets. We are unsatisfied with this aspect. These skins are 1/8 inch thick...the cabinet backing is so thin, it almost doesn't seem like real wood. The slow close sticks but we've been told this will loosen up as we use them. I hope so.

 

American Woodmark - Quality

Overall rating: 
 
9.5
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
10.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
January 12, 2015
 
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

I have read several of the reviews regarding the American Woodmark cabinets along with the Home Depot remarks. To qualify my comments, I am a Home Depot Kitchen Designer. I have designed many kitchens for my customers and the cabinet vendor I start with is the American Woodmark line. The reason is they offer more quality and value at a better price point. I know some of you may be thinking, he is biased, he works at Home Depot, he has to say positive things about American Woodmark. Not true, let me give you an example.

When customers come in looking for a faucet and I ask them if it going to be used for everyday use, I tell them to consider any other brand except Glacier Bay and Pegasus, both are our brands. Why, because of the feedback that I have received from other customers. Glacier Bay and Pegasus are great for toilets and vanity tops, but not as much for an every day use faucet.

I would provide my customers the same feedback on cabinets if it were true, but in my professional opinion, American Woodmark offers customers a choice on construction, door style, and finish that is in line with their budget. Ashland is at the low end in a thermofoil and also a painted finish. Savanah is at the high end in a stain or painted finish. I ask my customers what their budget is so I can help them get the kitchen they want and still be within their means.

Some of the complaints were related to quality and construction. All of their cabinets start out as standard construction which means a solid hardwood face frame and door front,for the most part, with furniture board for the sides and shelves. I say for the most part meaning if a thermofoil door was selected then the door front would be an MDF profile with a thermofoil finish. If customers want to upgrade to a ply side or all ply construction, American Woodmark offers that option too.

Did you know, through American Woodmark, if you have 10 cabinets or more you have a choice, depending on the door style, of getting either the All-Ply construction or premium finish for free!!! I have one kitchen now where that amounts to about $3500.00 off for choosing the premium finish, Linen, on a Reading door style. In all my customer is saving about $4700.00 with their order through American Woodmark. The other vendors we carry have other incentives too, but nothing close to what American Woodmark has to offer. On top of the vendor promotions, our Buy More Save More store promotion is also saving that same customer another $6000.00!
That's over $10,000.00 on one kitchen order.

When I hear you get what you pay for, I say you are absolutely right! You are paying for a product that offers choice and selection. As you pick roll out trays, crown molding, unique cabinet options, and pantry cabinets your order will reflect those choices. I know this first hand in our store, if there is ever any issue related to our products or services, we take care of our customers. I can say this with confidence because I have seen our store and company step up to resolve issues when they have been brought to our attention.

New Years eve for 2014, 6pm to 8pm, I spent at a customer's home following up on an install issue with a shower door that was not installed by Home Depot. But, because they had purchased their kitchen and bathroom from Home Depot, I felt obligated to ensure that their concern was properly addressed. I spent about two hours taking the doors apart and rebuilding them correctly. In the end they doors worked properly and my customer was very happy with the service provided.

I am letting you know that Home Depot does care about the products and services provided to you, our customer. I apologize on behalf of those associates, vendors, and others that have not lived up to your valid expectation of excellence. I hope your future projects will include considering Home Depot and vendors like American Woodmark as companies and people that genuinely care about you, our customer.

Respectfully,

Brent
Kitchen Design
The Home Depot

 

customer service

Overall rating: 
 
9.2
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
9.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
9.0
Price / Value:
 
9.0
Quality:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 18, 2014
 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

I had no problems with the initial installation or the quality (done by homeowner) 14 years ago and had several doors replaced at the time no charge because we didn't like the look of a knot or something that some people like. Now after 14 years they are sending a replacement door front that got scratched through no fault of theirs and sending it no charge. I say fantastic customer service and how great that they are still in business and making the same products unlike so very many businesses.
I had one hinge break a year ago again thru no fault of American Woodmark and was able to get a replacement part since these were high quality and the maker is still around.
They have held up very well and would not hesitate to buy again.
As far as working with Home Depot I guess we were lucky to have gotten a good planner who gave good advice. I went to many other places before we bought that were poor to very poor, so learn a bit as you go and pay attention to the layout that is being suggested.

 

Worse remodel with Home Depot and Woodmark - stay away

Overall rating: 
 
3.2
Finish:
 
2.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
3.0
Custom Options:
 
6.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 08, 2014
 
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

A three week kitchen remodel turned into 2 months. I am STILL dealing with issues. Home Depot made mistake after mistake. First they shipped the wrong color cabinets for my dining room which took 3 weeks to fix. They then shipped wrong cabinets, damaged doors and smaller cabinets than could be used. An entire remeasure of my kitchen then had to be done to show they gave me less room than I had before. New cabinets, new doors, new hinges, the problems with the Woodmark cabinets keep coming. Home Depot finally sent out the Woodmark rep who continued to tell me over and over again this is normal for your cabinets to come apart at the seems, its because of the light color. They are shipping me some new doors, I am sure we will continue to have problem. STAY AWAY FROM HOME DEPOT AND WOODMARK - both stink!

 

Cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
1.3
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
2.0
Custom Options:
 
2.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 05, 2014
 
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful

If you are going to buy cabinets, DO NOT BUY THESE!! We spent 10,000. on these cabinets and have had them for 3 months. The hinges are all coming loose and the screws are stripped. The finish can be damaged by just hitting it lightly. We are still waiting for new doors for the ones that came in damaged. You are better off to pay more and get something that is good. These are the worst things I have ever purchased. Worthless!!!!!

 

Painful remodel with Woodmark

Overall rating: 
 
4.3
Finish:
 
3.0
Durability:
 
4.0
Warranty:
 
9.0
Custom Options:
 
5.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 06, 2014
 
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Ordered 23 cabinets + moldings in December through Home Depot, now June and still getting replacement parts. Woodmark has easily added two months delay to a major kitchen remodel project, and cost me tens of hours dealing with issues & returns, photographs and emails.

Overall, the manufacturing quality is good (not great). A few items received with defects from manufacturing process, in once case a poor job of filler in a crack of the face of a door panel (should have never left the floor), but considering the number of items received, less than 5% of total. Consistency is another thing...cabinets frequently don't match each other or molding in finish or stain color (hue).

Where they really fall short, seriously short, is packing, which is part of their quality, thus the single star rating and reduced rating for durability. They use minimal packing, resulting in a substantial number of items received damaged. I've had to have several pieces replaced more than once, three time in some cases, because the items were damaged in transit. Remember, three weeks for each replacement, so over two months now to get some drawers replaced (and still waiting for some missing rail kits).

The company is good about replacing defective parts, just takes several tries to get ones that actually arrive undamaged, and hopefully with a fairly close hue and finish. Overall manufacturing quality is better than the low-priced Swedish retailer thats popular with college kids, but below the what the name of the company implies, American Woodmark. (My contractor writes "made in China" on all the damaged parts, which is quite a pile now.)

Home Depot has been good about getting replacements, although there have been some frustrations dealing with them, sort of the normal stuff you put up with when working with Home Depot. That does not impact any of the ratings here.

Recommend? No. If you're on a tight budget, find a way to stretch it or finance to go with something a bit better. If it's already a stretch, then be prepared for significant delays and time investment to resolve issues; my prayers are with you!

 

owne/builder

Overall rating: 
 
10.0
Finish:
 
10.0
Durability:
 
10.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
10.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
May 19, 2014
 
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful

These are great cabinets. We ordered the Newport in the all plywood upgrade with a natural finish in maple. The cabinets are beautiful. Had a slight problem with one slide that broke, and it was promptly fixed. I read a lot of reviews that sound like the main problems some people have are either ordering the cheapest cabinets available or dealing with an inexperienced Home Depot employee. We upgraded to plywood, and the cabinets are very sturdy. We also had an experienced cabinet man who "retired" to work at Home Depot and was extremely helpful in getting our order correct. We purchased our cabinets through the Olympia Home Depot.

 

Disappointing

Overall rating: 
 
6.7
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
6.0
Price / Value:
 
8.0
Quality:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
April 18, 2014
 
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

I purchased 15 American Woodmark cabinets from Home Depot in 2007; the wood was maple and stain natural. The finish is even on all the faces, and while there are some darker marks on the wood, I think they are to be expected with a natural wood product. I purchased crown molding and leaded glass inserts as upgrades.

One cabinet base arrived with the frame completely cracked; doors on two other cabinets were not square. We had to reorder these pieces, delaying our construction by about 3 weeks.

The drawer hardware takes up too much space, leaving the drawers much narrower than I'd like. I built an island with two base cabinets; I wish I had used just one wide cabinet with one wide drawer on top. The two small drawers on the two cabinets are simply not wide enough for me.

My 30" sink base does not have a center support piece on the front of the frame; instead, one of the doors has a piece of 1/4" wood extending out to cover the space between the two doors. It looks cheap and means you have to close one door before the other.

By far, the worst problem has been the hinges. On the two most commonly used doors, the hinges have broken several times and constantly need tightening and adjustment. Each time I call, the company quickly sends a replacement hinge, but because this is a vacation rental property, I really can't tolerate broken doors. I see that the hinge model I purchased is now discontinued; I hope the newer ones are sturdier.

I cannot recommend this cabinetry. Quality control is terrible, delaying construction. My kitchen looks great, but it requires too much maintenance.

 

American Woomark not what you want.

Overall rating: 
 
2.3
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
3.0
Warranty:
 
3.0
Custom Options:
 
3.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
3.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 30, 2013
 
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Went to Lowes to start a remodel project of the downstairs. Floors, kitchen cabinets, countertop, paint, and lighting. This all started in February 2013 now here at the end of June the floors are finished, paint is finished, even the lighting is done. The American Woodmark cabinets,, still waiting to get things right. We ordered Cherry cabinets with a chocolate glaze, but when the cabinets were hung, the doors, or most have blemishes, cracks, smudges in the glaze, and dark spots. Even noticed saw chatter marks. Reordered the cabinet doors and when the new ones showed up they were as bad as the first.
We had a company rep come to our house trying to tell us the glaze is hand wiped, which looking at the finish did not happen, and also saying that since this is natural wood some blemishes can be expected. We said to send new doors and be sure they are right. Now after three weeks still waiting. Also we had a custom cabinet installed for the pantry. 84"X36"X21" deep built in with 4 slide out drawers. The first drawers were 6" too short so reordering we got 21" deep drawers. This has been going on for 3 months and still do not have the job finished. The price may be right but the quality of the finished product is unacceptable to say the least. I can not understand how a company with this poor quality of workmanship and poor service is still in business. I would never recommend American Woodmark cabinets to anyone, no matter the price.

 

American woodmark

Overall rating: 
 
8.5
Finish:
 
7.0
Durability:
 
8.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
10.0
Quality:
 
8.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 05, 2013
 
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful

I have installed over 35 kitchens with American Woodmark cabinets. I have also installed other lines of cabinets ( Shrock, Kraftmaid, etc), I keep seeing the same issues with all of them, including the upper line of cabinets, warped doors, color variations in the wood, cabinet assembly not square, warped styles. As far as what you get and pay for, these issues never stop. I have never had an issue with American Woodmarks construction of the cabinet. I personally have them, and they are going on 10 years and still strong. I see alot of consumers blaming the cabinet industry for there wrong doing, and not want to pay out of pocket for what they broke. I see some ratings here are more like a home depot complaint rather than the cabinet themselves. I will stand behind American Woodmark as an independent installer who has no ties to this industry. They are the same quality you are getting in all cabinets purchased in store chains or private owned businesses. Face it, we are using wood species today from trees that are grown super fast, not like ages ago when a tree was naturally grown, so when you go to order cabinets, the same tree is being milled to make them. The difference between Kraftmaid and American Woodmark is the custom end of a special size cabinet. I have seen no difference in the quality of both, but yet Kraftmaid has high ratings, y?

 
 
View all user reviews
 

Cabinet Reviews:  Kraftmaid Cabinets | Mid Continent Cabinetry | Thomasville | Marsh Furniture  | Welborn |


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy |Sitemap

.........................................................

Kitchen Cabinets on KitchenCabinetsReviews.com

Welcome to KitchenCabinetsReviews.com! You have discovered the best site online for Kitchen Cabinet Reviews. We have 
all of the major brands listed - Kraftmaid, Mid Continent Cabinetry, Marsh, Cardell, Quality, Merillat, Welborn, High Point
Cabinetry, Decora, Thomasville, Medallion, Omega, Diamond and more. The cabinets listed are all major brands and all
manufacture nice cabinets. Feel free to browse the site and checkout all of the reviews left by consumers and we hope
that our site helps to make your cabinet buying decision easier.


Copyright
© 2015, Kitchen Cabinets Reviews, All Rights reserved