Follow Us on Twitter

Featured Brands



StarMark Cabinetry
User rating
 
10.0
Reviewed by Kris
"We just completed our kitchen remodel (2015) and the cabinets from Starmark are beautiful. We wo..."


StarMark Cabinetry
User rating
 
9.8
Reviewed by Mike Lewis
"Shapes Supply provided Starmark cabinetry for our kitchen remodeling project, including onsite de..."
< >

Starmark Cabinetry      Fieldstone Cabinetry


Kraftmaid

 
Kraftmaid
Kraftmaid
Kraftmaid
Kraftmaid
Editor rating
 
9.0 User rating
 
4.5 (24)

Company Address

Kraftmaid
P.O. Box 1055
Middlefield, Ohio 44062
1-888-562-7744
http://www.kraftmaid.com

Warranty

As long as you own the cabinets

Door Styles Available

Shaker • Arched • Raised Panel • Flat Panel

Wood Used

Oak • Maple • Cherry • Hickory • Birch

Company Information

For more than 40 years, KraftMaid has been committed to the needs of our customers.

We’re an industry leader and one of the largest built-to-order cabinet manufacturer in the United States, helping more customers create the home of their dreams than any other cabinet manufacturer in the world.

Our cabinets are constructed here in the United States. With more than 1.5 million square feet of manufacturing facilities in Northeast Ohio, we bring you the same kind of hand-crafted all-wood, dovetail drawer boxes and I-beam constructed cabinets that we sold from our modest shop over 40 years ago.

Why choose KraftMaid? Because semi-custom kitchen cabinets give you the perfect blend of style, selection, and affordability.

With semi-custom cabinetry, you get to enjoy customizing your cabinetry design without the steep prices and extended lead times that often go with fully-customized cabinets. Our product is 100% built-to-order. Through state-of-the-art construction methods, we use the finest materials to build each cabinet to your exact specifications. You choose your door style and the type of material for your semi-custom kitchen cabinets, whether that’s oak, cherry, maple, birch or hickory. Then, you complete your cabinet design with your choice of finish and decorative hardware.

Editor reviews

 

Good selection of options

Overall rating: 
 
9.0
Finish:
 
10.0
Durability:
 
10.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
10.0
Price / Value:
 
5.0
Quality:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
September 20, 2009
#1 Reviewer
View all my reviews
 
Last updated: March 10, 2010
132 of 141 people found the following review helpful

Kraftmaid has a great selection of doors and cabinet styles. Their warranty, as long as you own the cabinets, is one of the best in the industry. They offer many "custom" options and the only drawback to buying their cabinets is that they are on the more expensive side for semi custom cabinets. If you are considering these cabinets, you will end up with quality cabinets.

 
 


User reviews

View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 24 user(s)

Overall rating: 
 
4.5
Finish:
 
4.1   (24)
Durability:
 
4.6   (24)
Warranty:
 
4.9   (24)
Custom Options:
 
5.5   (24)
Price / Value:
 
3.9   (24)
Quality:
 
3.8   (24)
 
Ratings (the higher the better)
Finish*
 
Durability*
 
Warranty*
 
Custom Options*
 
Price / Value*
 
Quality*
 
Comments*
    Please enter the security code.
 
 

"Beyond Expectations"

Overall rating: 
 
9.0
Finish:
 
9.0
Durability:
 
9.0
Warranty:
 
10.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
8.0
Quality:
 
10.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
January 24, 2016
 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful


Okay - I just completed my kitchen project. I originally started out getting a custom kitchen quotes by a local carpenters. I then went to a local Home Depot who had a few different cabinet lines. I chose Kraftmaid because the door style I chose was unique and the color and finish was great. When the cabinets came in, I have to say they looked much better than I expected (since it wasn't "custom"). Now that I am able to fully use my kitchen, I love my Kraftmaid cabinets. I did have 3 doors that I felt looked not as nice as the others but the Kraftmaid Rep Gary H. (Great guy, great customer service) came to my house and replaced them. I would highly recommend Kraftmaid!

 

Junk consruction and worse warranty!

Overall rating: 
 
2.3
Finish:
 
3.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
7.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 09, 2015
 
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful

After a little over 4 years we had 2 wall cabinets completely fail at the joint between the cheap particle board sides and the horizontal braces across the backs that are used to mount them at the top, separating completely. The result was that the cabinets were literally about to fall off of the wall with about a 1" gap at the top and were being supported solely by the lower mounting screws. For even a fraction of what they cost that would simply be inexcusable. I immediately called kraftmaid when we noticed this and after waiting through a brief hold was hung up on without a single word being uttered on either end of the phone. The second call was much more lengthy, although no more fruitful. I spent almost 30 minutes essentially being told that the cabinets must have been installed incorrectly and that, point blank, kraftmaid would under no circumstances repair or replace them and that I would have to go back to where I bought them and deal with the issue there, again, more than 4 years after the sale. Even more insulting, I was also told a number of lies up to and including a statement that it would be illegal for them to send me more cabinets because I would just put them back up the same way as the last set and create a safety hazard! It's important to note that at this point I had already informed the representative that I wouldn't simply be putting them back up as they were before and had been through options with her that in kraftmaid's view would make my installation "safe". Having said all of that, it's also probably important to mention that this entire kitchen was professionally designed and installed and that the way the cabinets were mounted would have been perfectly acceptable for virtually any other brand I have ever seen and while I'm not a cabinet installer myself, I've been in the building trades in one way or another for most of my life since I was 12 years old, so I've seen my fair share and then some of kitchens, baths, etc go together. Screws of more than adequate length were installed in each cabinet, top and bottom, at every location that there is structure to support them, at every stud. To be honest it seems like the real problem is the 1/2" thick, 2.5" wide board that is the sole support for the top of these cabinets. It's just glued onto the particle board sides where it has very little surface area for the glue to adhere and doesn't have so much as a finishing nail or staple to help hold it together. The fact that the rest of the back wall is cardboard printed to look like wood certainly doesn't help either. Simply screwing a piece of hardwood 1x4 flat across the top into the sides of the cabinets and pocket holing it to accept the mounting screw going through to the wall stud should be more than adequate to reinforce that part of the structure and would be trivial to incorporate into the manufacturing process at a minimal cost. At the risk of sounding a bit cynical I have to say that I suppose I shouldn't be surprised about the problems I'm having after more closely looking at the extremely cheap construction of every part of these cabinets behind the doors/faces. It's like kraftmaid thinks if they use real wood for what people will see walking by, then nothing else matters. Sadly though, it does, and having already been taken like so many others and the point being so clearly made that I can expect absolutely nothing in the way of warranty support, I'll make the modifications to the cabinets myself that kraftmaid should have designed in at the factory and warn every person I can about what they can expect of what should have been a quality product at a premium price from an American company. Disappointing doesn't even begin to describe it...

 

Never Again!

Overall rating: 
 
3.8
Finish:
 
2.0
Durability:
 
2.0
Warranty:
 
8.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
2.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
October 22, 2015
 
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

Never Again. This is what was written by one of your other readers who bought and reviewed their Kraftmaid cabinets. I completely understand that sentiment and will never again order anything from Kraftmaid. I originally decided to buy Kraftmaid because they had one of the only black cabinets that was a bit glossy but not lacquered. Everyone else had some form of gray black or brown and black combination. I will give them 1 star for the fact that my cabinets are completely beautiful. I have to take away the other 4 stars because the company has absolutely no pride in their product or any ability to complete basic customer service needs.

We bought cabinets for a 10 x 10 kitchen and a much smaller washroom. The total cost was about $16K. The first shipment of kitchen cabinets had a return rate of about 50 percent and Kraftmaid sent the wrong type of doors. We checked the order and the doors they sent were ordered correctly on the store’s end. Then of the remaining cabinets and doors about half were turned back due to problems with the finish. Dimples, dents, scuffs, scratches here and there throughout. My kitchen was held up for a further three weeks as the replacements were ordered. Once again, some of those had imperfections that were noticeable. There is also a set of cabinets that were sent with no drawer fronts. These finally came in but we had to put them on ourselves. We would get three shipments for the kitchen before Kraftmaid got it correct. Then, the garage door type hinges for two of the cabinets never worked. The company was quick to say that they had replaced these with a new type of hinge that would work better. This was amusing. Clearly they know that there is a problem with the old hinges but they are still selling them. The Kraftmaid representative for this area said he would come out and bring the new hinges but we have had the store representative call him three times now and he still has yet to contact us even though its been months.

The kitchen and the washroom are within sight of each other and so we wanted the washroom cabinets to match the kitchen cabinets. Round two with Kraftmaid began. Or if we count all the repeated shipments round four. Just as with the first shipment the cabinets and doors that were ordered came beaten up with factory indents, dimples, scuffs and scratches. We re-ordered and the second time we just decided to keep the replacements and put the defects in the top upper corners and just ignore them. Kraftmaid had broken our spirit with regard to re-ordering and holding up the remodeling process.

My thoughts for all of you out there determining who to use when remodeling your kitchen, washroom or bathroom? Find another cabinet maker. Kraftmaid may have once taken pride in their work but their production standards have lowered considerably and they will hold up your project by having to try several times to get it right.

 

Buyer Beware

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 28, 2015
 
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful

Purchased what we thought were quality cabinets from Home Depot.
Paid in full up front waited a month for delivery, Mounted 1st wall cabinet Cherry door looked great. Cabinet box that the nice front was glued on to is poorly constructed. Particle board shelf's, sides, bottoms, and top with printed contact paper covering. Ends of shelf's and box sides not covered or sealed, Think moisture or better yet scratching the contact paper covering on shelf's or cabinet bottom. I do not think that the cabinets would look to nice in a few years. Where is the quality that Kraftmaid claims they sell? A note on service regarding XXXXX and Kraft Maid hope you never have a problem.

 

Do not buy!

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 10, 2015
 
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful

We remodeled our kitchen with Kraftmaid and I regret it. Doors all shipped seperatley, once installed some touch and rub. Colors are noticeably off. They sent someone to repaint the cabinets after installation which did not help. He just created more work for us by removing his over spray off of the floor and appliances. Sooo disappointed with the appearance of our kitchen. Should have sent the entire mess back and went with a different company. Don't make the same mistake we did. Customer service department in Kraftmaid is not interested in solving any of our problems.

 

Bought all-plywood: small cabinets good, larger cabinets "okay"

Overall rating: 
 
7.2
Finish:
 
8.0
Durability:
 
7.0
Warranty:
 
7.0
Custom Options:
 
7.0
Price / Value:
 
8.0
Quality:
 
6.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
May 06, 2015
 
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful

We ordered all-plywood units (redoing a kitchen with water damage)and they arrived four weeks later. We haven't had to go the warranty route (yet), since the cabinets went in well, despite the need for me to "reinforce" the large (36-inch) sink cabinet. The joints on both large cabinets were poorly connected (3/8-inch gaps held together with long staples and 'hot glue').

The 'Thermofoil' finish was good, the drawers and doors nice, although several nylon stops were missing (ya know, the little pads that cushion the façade when it bumps against the face of the cabinet).

We have not yet installed the marble countertops, so stay tuned for an additional review if the notable weight of stone changes the base cabinet performance.

These cabinets (bought though XXXX), seem better than off-the-shelf but are basically mass-produced.

I'm unsure if I would buy more KraftMaid in future.

 

Poorly Constructed-Lifetime Warranty Completely False

Overall rating: 
 
1.5
Finish:
 
2.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
3.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
April 28, 2015
 
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Bought from and installed by XXXX (who doesn't stand behind their services either). After 6 years the cabinet frame literally started to fall apart and come off the wall. Said I overloaded it when all I had were the three shelves that came with the cabinet which were stocked with drinking glasses. They also said that the cabinet should have been anchored to a soffit or another cabinet ... but Home Depot did the design, selection and installation of that cabinet and either didn't know that detail or neglected to say anything. Bottom line ... Kraft Maid is not covering the cabinet and is saying that I am at fault for their cabinet falling apart. But they would be happy to sell and install a replacement for $1,400. Outrageous! I have pictures if anyone wants to me to send. Just email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it . I will be posting these and video to YouTube and social media shortly.

 

Junk!! Avoid at all costs

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
February 20, 2015
 
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

These cabinets are very, very, very over rated and over priced!! Customer purchased from XX. One 6 ft vanity and middle upper for vanity and 32" x 7ft linen set... With XXXX 10% off and Kraftmade 10% off was still $6,000!!! Designer at XXX forgot the following on the order.... One cabinet, filler peices, all scribe and sold customer crown moulding without explanation that side panels need to be same thickness as face panel, so he had to order "skins" To make up thickness difference. For 6k these should have been at a minimum plywood construction... No, ALL fiberboard!!! Heavy, cheap and brittle!! They say "all
Ends are finished".... Well if you call a shitty sticker over the fiberboard that is 3 shades off color then yes I guess they are. Backs of cabinets are not even full thickness just a cardboard veneer and fiberboard, mounting screws go right through it. Soft close drawers make loud clunk! Overall construction is just of a poor quality. Would not recommend these to my worst enemy. I put cabinets from Norcraft in my house for $4,500(entire kitchen with huge island, and 2 full size vanities) full plywood boxes, soft close, everything for less than this bathroom. Run!!!

 

cabinet doors hit doors next to them all

Overall rating: 
 
6.5
Finish:
 
6.0
Durability:
 
7.0
Warranty:
 
7.0
Custom Options:
 
7.0
Price / Value:
 
6.0
Quality:
 
6.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
February 08, 2015
 
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful

I purchased over $10,000 white Kraftmaid kitchen cabinets. Every door I open hits the door next to it or the knob on the cabinet doors or the microwave and pantry wall and dishwasher. I was told by designer I need to get these little rubber things to put in all hinges so doors will only open 90 degrees. Still one door hits knob on corner cabinet. Many of the cabinet doors and drawers were damaged when we opened them. One was replaced and my contractor touched up the others. The lazy susan has a wide opening on both sides so you can see what you have in the lazy susan. The representative is coming here tomorrow. I know this is a design flaw in the full overlay cabinet style. No on told us the doors would all hit each other when they open. They need different hinges for the overlay design. The designer said her never heard of this happening. He is coming tomorrow also to see it for himself. I called customer service and they said it is a design issue. They said I needed filler in between doors so they can open. I told her they are full overlay so you don't want spaces and she said to me, "What do you want, no spaces or be able to open the doors and get into your cabinets."
Very disappointed. Kraftmaid should have different hinges on their full overlay cabinets.CPiGp

 

Won't Use Again

Overall rating: 
 
4.7
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
4.0
Warranty:
 
8.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
3.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 20, 2014
 
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful

We were very disappointed in these cabinets, purchased for a powder room remodel. While they appear well-made, and have solid wood doors, the front finish is absolutely horrible. Molding edges were not stained properly and the finish is not the deep, rich finish that we expected. There were even a few dings, here and there. I should mention that we purchased one of the most expensive "models" that they offer.

Since we had granite and stone contractors waiting on these, as well as an electrician, we accepted delivery and - believe it or not - used a black permanent marker pen to hide flaws. Fortunately, we had chosen a dark wood stain and that helped. Will not use this brand on our kitchen remodel.

 

Kraftmaide Kitchen cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
6.0
Finish:
 
8.0
Durability:
 
7.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
8.0
Price / Value:
 
3.0
Quality:
 
9.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
November 01, 2014
 
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful

We are happy, happy, happy with the cabinets, but not so happy with the company!. The cabinets are a good, solid product, but we had damage in shipping and a drawer that was warped. The company stood behind nothing! So if you think their warranty is any good, I'm guessing it isn't worth the paper it is printed on. Too bad. A great product, but the worst customer service I've ever seen. No wonder our lumber yard hates selling this brand. Luckily for us, our local lumber yard/dealer did hire a carpenter to fix the cabinets for us, but we are still waiting for a drawer and have been waiting for the company to resolve the issues for over 6 months! I will never buy from this company again simply because they do not stand behind their product.

 

Kraftmaid Cabinets

Overall rating: 
 
2.0
Finish:
 
2.0
Durability:
 
2.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
4.0
Quality:
 
2.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
October 10, 2014
 
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful

I have Kraftmaid Oaklands cabinets in my kitchen for past 15 years. I have had numerous problems. On one drawer, the front came off completely & had to re-glue them back together. A door cracked. Most of the spring returns on the hinges in my kitchen wore out & had to order new ones. My worst experience by far was that I recently needed new 4 new doors from them. I brought a door into one of their local dealers to get a match. I ordered 4 doors that looked the same color as the sample, however when they arrived, I only opened 1 box, and it did not match my cabinets for whatever reason.....maybe the lighting at the showplace was different than my house, etc, etc. Come to find out I am now stuck with $300 of non-matching cabinet doors, because Kraftmaid does not accept returns, even for the unopened doors.

I would stay away and never buy their products again, not just for how they have held up, but for the poor customer service.

 

Never Again

Overall rating: 
 
2.0
Finish:
 
3.0
Durability:
 
5.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
June 30, 2014
 
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful

I will never buy Kraftmaid again......when I had an issue with some shelves I learned how much the company cares about it's customers and the answer to that is none. They would not/could not deal directly with me and so when I went through home depot, I had 100 problems beginning with the fact that Kraftmaid delivered the wrong parts for my cabinet. Still have not gotten this resolved and it has been over a month, taken 5 trips to XXXX, numerous phone calls to manufacturer and kitchen "experts" at home depot, about 8 man hours on my part in total now, all over 3 shelves which I still won't have for at least another couple of weeks at best. Not to mention I paid almost $100 for these 3 lamanent covered pieces of plywood to which they are not refundable because they are "custom ordered" even though I was sent the wrong items and so now I am told I have to buy the shelves again.....lucky me. I would NOT recommend this company to my enemy.

 

Don't Touch With Painters Tape

Overall rating: 
 
4.8
Finish:
 
5.0
Durability:
 
2.0
Warranty:
 
5.0
Custom Options:
 
7.0
Price / Value:
 
6.0
Quality:
 
4.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
February 06, 2014
 
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful

Thought I was getting a better quality cabinet then Home Depot or Lowe's have.Vanity looks great but after installing realized I had paint touch up to do on wall beside the cabinet.Put about 5 inches of blue painters tape on the side of vanity.Probably had the tape on for 10 hours.Peeled the tape off the next morning and it took the finish right off with it ,looked like a piece of cellophane coming off.Now there's a 3 inch bare spot where cabinet meets the wall.Called Kraft Maid about the problem.Didn't even get the words out of my mouth and they said "you used blue painters tape".Like it's a problem they have all the time.After many weeks of trying to get some resolution to the problem they finally sent me a side skin to attempt to fix the problem.Tell me how I'm getting this on without any problems!!! Guess they just don't have a fix for this problem.Think there should be a warning on the cabinet don't use painters tape it will damage finish.I can put painters tape on any piece of shit cabinet I've ever owned without causing any damage.Kraft Maid really has to look into their finishing process to make it more durable.

 

Terrible delivery....still waiting, they stood me up the first time around.

Overall rating: 
 
1.0
Finish:
 
1.0
Durability:
 
1.0
Warranty:
 
1.0
Custom Options:
 
1.0
Price / Value:
 
1.0
Quality:
 
1.0
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No
Reviewed by cabinet owner
January 31, 2014
 
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful

i'll review if i ever get them! drove 2 1/2 hours to the site for delivery and they didnt show. called my lowes, he called the rep, no apologies from them. i still dont know when i can get them, they are in a warehouse in houston and the doors are being shipped separately so i can put them on myself (!) and only one of 8 came and it was left out by a gate (rural area- weekend home), which of course i didnt know they were shipping them Fed Ex instead of including them with the order. we talking 30k+ worth of cabinets.

 
 
View all user reviews
 

Cabinet Reviews:  Kraftmaid Cabinets | Mid Continent Cabinetry | Thomasville | Marsh Furniture  | Welborn |


About Us | Contact Us | Privacy |Sitemap

.........................................................

Kitchen Cabinets on KitchenCabinetsReviews.com

Welcome to KitchenCabinetsReviews.com! You have discovered the best site online for Kitchen Cabinet Reviews. We have 
all of the major brands listed - Kraftmaid, Mid Continent Cabinetry, Marsh, Cardell, Quality, Merillat, Welborn, High Point
Cabinetry, Decora, Thomasville, Medallion, Omega, Diamond and more. The cabinets listed are all major brands and all
manufacture nice cabinets. Feel free to browse the site and checkout all of the reviews left by consumers and we hope
that our site helps to make your cabinet buying decision easier.


Copyright
© 2015, Kitchen Cabinets Reviews, All Rights reserved